top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Csl.E.'s Korner



Took a walk to the corner store

Just to buy a loaf of bread and a box of s'mores

Up pulled a guy in a yellow van

Shiny gold badge flashing in his hand

He said, alright all you mohuddles down here

I want you all to hit the floor

I got one thing to ask you and nothing more

So answer in English, if you can

Where were ya born, man

Huh? where was I born?

That's right, I said

Where were ya born?

Hey, are you one of those dudes who do horoscopes, man

Hey, I'm a cancer with a bad moon rising

Look here Alfago, watch my lips

Where were ya born?

I was born in East L.A

Man, I was born in East L.A

Oh yeah, you were born in East L.A

Let's see your green card

Huh? green card?

I'm from East L.A

Alright, then who's president of the United States

Oh, that's easy, man

That guy that used to be on death valley days, John Wayne

Alright, let's go, come on

Next thing I know, I'm in a foreign land

People talkin' so fast, I couldn't understand

There was nobody there to lend a helping hand

I was cold, it was dark where is a burger stand

I want to go back to east L.A

I wish I was back in East L.A

I don't belong here in downtown t.j.

Cause I was born in East L.A, ole

I crawled under barbed wire, swam across a stream

Rode in six different trucks packed like a sardine

Walked all day in the burning sun

Now I know what it's like to be born to run

Up ahead was the promised land

Shining like a star just beyond my hand

All I could see was a golden door

I looked up, a sign said five billion sold

And I was back in East L.A

Yes, I was back in East L.A

You know I'm never gonna stray

Cause I was born in East L.A, oh L.A

East L.A

Source: LyricFind

Songwriters: Bruce Springsteen / Richard Marin

Born In East L.A. lyrics © Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC



d.: Hi, Cal.E., where have  you been? I’ve been looking for you all morning.




C.: Oh, I’m sorry, d.c. I know that you wanted to start early on our blog, but I had to go back to my home planet to vote.


d.: I thought that you had already cast your vote.


C.: I did, but there was a runoff, so I had to go back and vote in that.


d.: I thought that Mewo Z. Tongue was running unopposed for Supreme Ruler of the Cat Galaxy, so how did a runoff occur?


C.: He was running unopposed, but some cats wrote in other names. Those votes don’t count, though. Meow’s electoral officials just throw away any ballots without his name on them. Has that ever happened on this planet?


d.: No comment on that. Anyway, if Meow was unopposed and threw away all the write-in votes, why did you need to vote again?


C.: Because Meow likes to hear his name called as the winner of the election. And, if I didn’t go back and vote, I’d be in bad trouble now that he knows where I am. Every resident of the galaxy must vote, or face the consequences.

d.: I see. But, don’t you have a time machine that would have gotten you back here sooner?


C.: I do, but I had some problems registering to vote. Since I’ve been on Earth so long, I picked up some characteristics of a cat from this planet. So I had to prove that I was a native of The Planet of the Talking Cats.


d.: How did yo udo that?


C.: With my rap song. It told them where I was originally from

Took a flight to the Galaxy door

Just to vote and chill and snore

Up pulled a cat who looked like a jello man

 Flashing shiny things to put me in a trance, man

He said, alright all you Earth cats down here

I want you all to hit the floor

I got one thing to ask you and nothing more

So answer in Catonese, if you can

Where were ya born, man

Huh? where was I born?

That's right, I said

Where were ya born?

Hey, are you one of those cats who do horoscopes, man

Hey, I'm a cancer with a bad moon rising

Look hereEarth Cat, watch my lips

Where were ya born?

I was born east of here

Man, I was born in the East Chalet

Oh yeah, you were born in the East Chalet

Let's see your cat card

Huh? cat card?

I'm from the East Chalet

Alright, then who's Supreme Ruler of the Cat Galaxy

Oh, that's easy, man

That huge cat that with the long lengua

He’s been in charge since I was a gatita

Next thing I know, I'm in a foreign land

Cats meowing so fast, I couldn't understand

There was nobody there to lend a helping hand

I was cold, it was dark where is a burger stand

I want to go back to the East Chalet

I wish I was back in the East Chalet

I don't belong here in the smelly hay

Cause I was born in the East Chalet ole

I crawled under barbed wire, swam across a stream

Rode in six different trucks packed like a sardine

Walked all day in the burning sun

Now I know what it's like to be born to run

Up ahead was the promised land

Shining like a star just beyond my hand

All I could see was a golden door

I looked up, a sign said five billion sold

And I was back at the East Chalet

Yes, I was back in  the East Chalet

You know I'm never gonna stray

Cause I was born in  the East Chalet


C.: So, after that, I had jet lag and set my time machine incorrectly.


d.: It sounds like you’ve been through a lot, so why don’t we just try this again tomorrow?


C.: Okay.


d.: So, I guess that all the time we have for today.


Please join us tomorrow for another (better, hopefully) episode of Cal.E.s’ Korner.






16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page