top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E's Korner

















All right, you guys feel funky tonight, ah yeah this is an old Memphis song, old Memphis song I used to smoke Five packs of cigarettes a day It was the hardest thing To put them away I drink four or five bottles of wine I kept a glass In my hand all the time Breaking those habits was hard to do But nothing compared to the changes You put me through Trying to live my life without you babe It's the hardest thing I'll ever do Trying to forget the love we once shared It's the hardest thing I'll ever have All right, I said I had the worst reputation in town For chasing all the women around I thought changing my way of living Was hard to do But it's nothing compared to the changes That you put me through I've done everything I've tried to do But it's gonna take a miracle To get me over you Trying to live my life without you babe It's the hardest thing I'll ever do Trying to forget the love we once shared It's the hardest thing I'll ever have All right, I said I had the worst reputation in town For chasing all the women around I thought changing my way of living Was hard to do But it's nothing compared to the changes That you put me through I've done everything I've tried to do But it's gonna take a miracle To get me over you

Source: LyricFind

Songwriters: Eugene Williams


Tryin' To Live My Life Without You lyrics © Happy Hooker Music, Inc


C.: d.c., what are you doing?




d.: I’m smoking cigarettes while I water my yard.




C.: I’ve never seen you smoke before. In fact, you’re the most anti-smoking person I’ve ever met in my time here on Earth. Why are you smoking now?


d.: Because, If I smoked five packs of cigarettes a day, and then quit, I could save about three hundred dollars a week. If I can save that much money I can afford to retire in… carry the one, divide by the square root of twenty….about twenty-five years. I’ll only be…


C.: (I’m not good at math, and I can only count to two, but I see a hole in that theory somewhere.) You’ll be really old, d.c. Okay, if you’re through making your retirement plans, I need to talk to you about something important.


d.: What is it, Cal.E.?


C.: Love.


d.: I’m listening.


C.: Well, Tom the Tabby had all fourteen of my kittens kidnapped and hiding on a ranch. He waited until T.J. came home for Easter so that he could kidnap all fourteen of them. He wanted to use them to force Tucker to help him manipulate the stock market. I feel responsible, because I’m the one who taught Tucker to speak English, and that’s what Tom needed, a cat who spoke both Catonese and English so that he could interpret what Tom was saying and put it on his social media account. Then, he wanted Tucker to call his stockbroker and sell the stock of the company Tom bought at a reduced price because Tucker said the company was in trouble on his social media account. Tucker has over one million flowers, which, I’m gathering is a lot.

Anyway, since he’s been training as a TDCJ officer, T.J. knew some things about being able to escape. He took a training class on what to look for when inmates are trying to escape from The Kennel, so he used those ideas to help his brothers, sisters, and him escape.


d.: That’s good.


C.: That part is, but Tucker says now that all sixteen of us need to go into hiding. He says that Tom is no idiot, and he’ll figure out that my kittens have escaped quickly. Then, he’ll come looking for all of us, and he’ll have his posse with him. Those cats are mean! Tucker does hold five cat fighting championship belts, be he can’t hold off a whole posse of cats by himself, and, other than T.J., my kittens are useless when it comes to defending themselves. Ralph still thinks he’ll get a contract with a music label, and Jodi is a flake. I’m okay at defending myself, but Tucker, T.J. and me against…more than two doesn’t sound like good odds. So, Tucker says that we should elope. He’s going to cash in all his stocks and strictly use cash on all our bills so that Tom can never trace our spending and find us.


d.: It sounds like a solid plan to me, Cal.E. What’s the problem?


C.: Well, I’ve built a life here, in Houston. I have a good job, good friends, and a place to live that is a good shelter from the weather. If we go on the lam, I won’t have any of those things. I also want to have my July wedding. I’ve done so much planning…


d.: Yes, Cal.E., but is it worth your and your kitten’s lives? You must think about more than yourself in this situation, as Tucker is doing. He came up with a solid plan, and you’re just making excuses not to let him execute it. Is there another reason why you don’t want to go with Tucker and live your life on the lam?


C.: Yes., You see, well, it's just that….


d.: That’s all the time we have for today, folks. Please tune in tomorrow and find out why Cal.E. doesn’t want to be constantly on the run with her fourteen kittens and her new love interest, right here on Cal.E.’s Korner.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page