top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.'E's Korner















You get up every morning from your alarm clock's warning Take the 8:15 into the city There's a whistle up above and people pushin', people shovin' And the girls who try to look pretty And if your train's on time, you can get to work by nine And start your slaving job to get your pay If you ever get annoyed, look at me I'm self-employed I love to work at nothing all day

And I'll be taking care of business (every day) Taking care of business (every way) I've been taking care of business (it's all mine) Taking care of business and working overtime, work out

If it were easy as fishin' you could be a musician If you could make sounds loud or mellow Get a second-hand guitar, chances are you'll go far If you get in with the right bunch of fellows People see you having fun just a-lying in the sun Tell them that you like it this way It's the work that we avoid, and we're all self-employed We love to work at nothing all day

And we be taking care of business (every day) Taking care of business (every way) We be been taking care of business (it's all mine) Taking care of business and working overtime

Mercy Whoo All right

Take good care of my business When I'm away, every day Whoo

They get up every morning from their alarm clock's warning Take the 8:15 into the city There's a whistle up above and people pushin', people shovin' And the girls who try to look pretty And if your train's on time, you can get to work by nine And start your slaving job to get your pay If you ever get annoyed, look at me I'm self-employed I love to work at nothing all day

And I be taking care of business (every day) Taking care of business (every way) I've been taking care of business (it's all mine) Taking care of business and working overtime, take care

Takin' care of business, whoo Takin' care of business Takin' care of business Takin' care of business Takin' care of business (every day) Takin' care of business (every way) Takin' care of business (it's all mine) Takin' care of business and working overtime, whoo

Takin' care of business Takin' care of business We be takin' care of business We be takin' care of business Takin' care of business Takin' care of business Takin' care of business

Source: LyricFind

Songwriters: Randy Bachman

Takin' Care Of Business lyrics © Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC


C.: Well, what Tucker and Tom are doing is going to make them both a lot of money, but I’m concerned that it may not be legal. Since I’m not from this planet, I’ll ask someone who is. d.c. is outside in his front yard, taking care of business with his grass. I’ll go talk to him as soon as he gets off the phone.



d.:(I hate these phone trees!) If you would like to speak to someone in English, push 1, 7, 2,4 and 9 simultaneously. If you would like to speak to someone in sales, push any key to continue, or just stay on the line and a sales associate will be with you shortly. If you would like to speak to a live person in any other department, please stay on the line until there is a freeze warning in Houston in July.

Well, we are having some strange weather patterns lately. I guess anything is possible. “Oh, hello, I was just looking at my new grass, and one blade looks a little peaked. Do you have any suggestions to give it some hope, so it will try it’s best to grow to maturity? Yes, I’ll hold.


C.:(What these people who sold him the grass and told him that, if he had any problems, just to call don’t realize is that d.c. is very serious about his yard. He puts all the love and affection he should be showing for his family and puts it into his yard. I’ll go outside while he’s on hold and ask him about this ‘investment opportunity' that Tom the Tabby has presented my fiancé, Tucker, Tucker Two.) “d.c., since you’re on hold, can we have a discussion?”


d.: I-I don’t know, Cal.E. I’m waiting on a salesman to tell me what product to buy to stimulate this one blade of grass to grow to maturity. Every blade is precious. “Yes, I’m still holding.”


Your approximate wait time is one hour and twenty minutes.


Well, it looks as if I do have some time to talk, Cal.E. What did you want to talk about?


C.: Well, Tom the Tabby convinced my fiancé, Tucker, to help him invest in some stocks, since I taught Tucker to speak English.


d.: I suppose they made up, then?


C.: Yes, it would seem so. Tom had this idea that Tucker could spread a rumor on his social media account that certain companies were failing. Tucker has over one million floowers, since he is the holder of all the heaveywieght cat fighting champoinship belts. He has a lot of influence, so that would drive the price of the companies' stock down, and he and Tucker have a lot of money since Tom is a savant with the stock market and Tucker won five championship belts and the money that goes with them cat fighting.

Tom’s idea was to buy up the stocks when the prices dropped because of the rumors, and then sell them when Tucker went on social media and said that there had been a mistake, and the company was doing just fine. When the prices for the companies’ stock went up, Tom planned to unload all the stocks he had recently purchased, and he needed Tucker to call his stockbroker and tell him to sell the stock. It should make them a lot of money, but it sounds shady to me.


d.: Well, the stock market is fickle, but what Tom is trying to do is highly illegal. It’s called manipulating the stock market, and he and Tucker can get in a lot of trouble for doing it. The flip side of this argument, though, is that it is very hard to prove, and they are cats. I don’t know how much trouble a cat can get into for doing what they’re doing…what companies is Tom trying to manipulate stock prices on?


C.: I don’t know. I wasn’t paying attention because I spent all my money on trying to win Tucker back. Something about Amalgamated Incorporated something or other.


d.: That doesn’t sound like a legitimate company to me. It may be a shell company, and those two could lose a lot of money by investing in it, if they aren’t careful. I wouldn’t touch this with a ten-foot pole, Cal.E.


C.: What’s a shell company, d.c.?


d.: It’s not a real company, but one that someone says exists so that he (or she) can claim that company is making a large profit ligitimately. The company’s profits would explain where some money that was obtained illegally came from. Some are put in place for future endeavors, but they still don’t make any money. This is a bad situation.


C.: That’s what I thought. Thanks for the information, d.c. I should call Tucker and warn him not to do what Tom wants him to do.



Well, all I got was his voice mail. I’ll just leave a message, “Tucker, it’s Cal.E. Please don’t do what Tom is asking you to do. It’s dangerous and may result in you losing all your money and being thrown into The Kennel for a very long time. Just be careful with your money.” I hope he listens to me.


Meanwhile, at a nearby ranch…



Tom the Tabby: Okay, Tucker. If’n yuse wants alls yo’ girlies kittens ta live, yuse gots ta do what I says. Otherwise, it’d be curtains fir all o’ ‘em. I's'll eats all o' dem.


Tux.: I don’t believe you have all fourteen of Cal.E.’s kittens, Tom. If you do, let me talk to them.




Tom.: Okay, I’s ‘ll dials da nummer, and yuse kin talks to ‘em.



Jodi: I'll be with you in a second. Let me ride this horse down. OKay, Tucker, it’s Jodi. Please help us get out of here! We’re having to eat food that wasn’t meant for a cat to consume! Porterhouse steak cooked medium?! Gag me with a steak knife! And Tom says that he will kill us all if you don’t do exactly as he says. Please, Tucker, help us get free!




Tom: An,’ if’n yuse breathes a woid o’ dis to yo’ girlie, it’s curtains fir all o’ dem.





C.: Hmm, all thirteen of my kittens called in sick tonight. I guess I won’t have a crew to help me. They’re probably planning a party or something, and don’t want their mom and boss to know that they’re playing hooky to have a good time. I guess I’ll be working overtime tonight, and taking care of business by myself.





19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page