top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner


C.: The combination of my intended getting in shape to catfight and d.c. training me to compete in the Cat Rodeo and the Cat Skills Games has inspired me to get into the best shape possible. I don’t want to stop training after the Cat Skills Games in May, but I need inspiration to keep in shape. I also want to be in good shape for my honeymoon with Tucker. Maybe the book that d.c. is working on now, Iron Man Training for Dummies, will help me to keep training. Let me start reading.

Page one

So, you want to compete in and complete an Ironman distance triathlon? This is a multi-step process that will require time, energy, and planning. Here is a step-by step guide to get ready to participate in an Ironman distance triathlon.



Step one: Since the first leg of the race is held in the open water, it’s imperative that the competitors know how to swim well in the open water.

C.: Okay, step one is to learn to swim. I might as well get started. Oh, wait, I’m a cat, and all cats are born knowing how to swim. This should be easy.


Step two: A nice bicycle is important, and so is knowing how to ride it properly for maximum performance with minimal effort, since this is the longest portion of the race.

C.: Well, that’s a tough one. Maybe I can find a bicycle that’s made especially for cats. That would be nice, since I would have trouble reaching the pedals on a regular bicycle.












Step three: The run, done as the last event, can be taxing, so training runs are one of the most important aspects of training for an Iron Man. Here is a guide to help build up your endurance over time.

C.: Oh, for cat’s sake. I’m a cat, I already know how to run, too. I don’t need a schedule to learn how to do that! This is going to be easy. I have two of the three steps d.c. listed licked (hehe).




If I want to compete in the Texas Ironman, I need to get started. Oh, wait, that’s next month, and I still need to train for the Cat Skills Games. I won’t have enough time to train for the Texas Iron Man, the Cat Rodeo and the Cat Skills Games. Hmm, this article says that the Midnight Man Ironman Distance Triathlon is a good one for beginners. It’s held in the month of August in Dartmouth, England, so I’ll have enough time to train for that one. It should also be a lot cooler there than it is here in Houston in August. I’d better get started training for it, though. I only have a few hours before I need to get ready for work tonight, so I'll go for a run, since d.c. says that’s the hardest part.










five minutes later…






C.: It’s going to be a busy summer!


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page