top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner






I find it very, very easy to be true I find myself alone when each day's through Yes, I'll admit that I'm a fool for you Because you're mine, I walk the line As sure as night is dark and day is light I keep you on my mind both day and night And happiness I've known proves that it's right Because you're mine, I walk the line You've got a way to keep me on your side You give me cause for love that I can't hide For you I know I'd even try to turn the tide Because you're mine, I walk the line I keep a close watch on this heart of mine I keep my eyes wide open all the time I keep the ends out for the tie that binds Because you're mine, I walk the line Because you're mine, I walk the line Because you're mine, I walk the line

Lyrics submitted by toterkater

I Walk The Line Lyrics as written by Johnny Cash

Lyrics © BMG Rights Management, Universal Music Publishing Group

Lyrics powered by LyricFind


C.: d.c., can you turn down the Johnny Cash music? I have something I need to talk to you about, and it’s serious.


d.: There, okay, Cal.E., what’s so important that you interrupted my (not so) quiet time? And why are you already dressed for work in the middle of the afternoon?


C.: I need your help, and I want to save time so I can workout again, because I want to get in shape to win the all-around cat at the Cat Rodeo. I talked Tucker into coming to the track by the school we went to Sunday. I needed someone to time me, since you were at work. d.c., my times were slower today than they were on Sunday. Also, after I lost 1/78th of a pound, I not only put that weight back on, I also gained another 1/78th of a pound. I know that you don’t think that I’m taking this training seriously, but I really am. Why can’t I run faster today than a couple of days ago?


d.: Because, Cal.E., much like life and recovering from a surgery or serious illness, the progress you see in training isn’t always linear. My swim coach would sometimes look at my times and say, “you just don’t have it today, do you, d.c.? Just take it easy and do a light workout today and come back fresh tomorrow.” That’s what we sometimes need to do. It may be due to fatigue, or something else that you aren’t aware of that’s going on with your body. And the weight gain is probably because you’ve gained muscle weight, so I wouldn’t worry, unless you continue to gain weight throughout your training. It’s normal to gain a couple of pounds when you first start training for something that takes a lot of effort.


C.: Please explain the first sentence of the first paragraph you just uttered. I’m not from this planet, so I don’t know how y’all’s bodies work here on earth.


d.: Well, when I was in elementary school, I could probably run as fast as I’m running now. However, when I was at my peak in my twenties and thirties, I could run maybe twice as fast as I do now for a short distance. I also was able to run or cycle or swim a longer distance then than I could when I was younger, as well as the distances I can go in those three disciplines now.

Buddy Bones was one of the fastest dogs I’ve ever seen run who wasn’t running on a dog track. A Beagle can keep with a horse or even a deer for short distances. But when Buddy got old, he probably couldn’t run much faster than he did when he was six or eight weeks old. Life is more circular than linear.


C.: I still don’t understand.


d.: Look at it this way. Human babies come into the world needing to wear diapers, because they don’t have much control over their bodily functions. In our young and mid lives, we usually master that concept. When we get old, though, we lose some of our ability to control our bowels and our bladders, so some elderly people need diapers, just like babies.


Additionally, most of what humans learn in their lifetimes is learned before the age of five, before the youngsters even start going to school. However, the older we get, the worse our memories are, and we sometimes lose some of our vocabulary as we age. Some eldrely people get frustrated, just liek a toddler when they can't find the right word to use.


C.: I knew humans were dumb…


d.: No, Cal.E, we’re not dumb. It’s just that there is a lot for a toddler to learn. S/he must learn to walk and talk, and then learn a vocabulary to express him or herself. S/he must learn what is dangerous and what is okay to play with. Humans aren’t born with the same instincts animals are. The only two instincts humans are born with are the urge to suckle and the fear of falling. Otherwise, many babies would die for starvation or from falling and breaking open their heads. Everything else that humans know, though, must be learned.


C.: So, I must learn how to train properly then. I that what you’re saying?


d.: Yes, I think that you understand now. And the best way to learn something is to have a good teacher. That’s why I’m here, to teach you proper techniques to get the best out of your training and to prevent injury.


C.: Okay, d.c. I’m fired up. Give me your hardest workout! I can handle it!


d.: Not today, Cal.E, for two reasons. One is that you already did your workout for today. Rest is just as important as exercise when training. There is a saying that I heard frequently at races that says it’s better to be twenty percent undertrained than two percent overtrained. Also, one shouldn’t increase the distances or weight that he or she is doing by over ten percent per week. It’s a sound philosophy that I’ve personally proven in a negative way many times. I always get hurt when I try to up my training too quickly.


C.: So you’re giving me permission to go home and take a catnap before I go to work tonight?


d.: Permission granted.


C.: Okay, then I’ll see you tomorrow. Now, if I can just get this motorcycle cranked…


d.: Oh, for the love of Pete! You just live next door, Cal.E. You can walk that far!




C.: I thought that I wan’t supposed to exert myself anymore today.


d.: That’s all the time we have for today, folks. Please join us tomorrow for another episode of Cal.E.’s Korner


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page