top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner


C.:'m glad that Tucker taught me how to ride this bike. It makes getting home a lot faster. Then I can begin my workout. Let's see, the first thing I need to do is to run four miles; the same distance it is from my house to work. d.c. is working late again, so he'll never know that I didn't complete the workout. I really should get cracking, though. d.c. sent me this email about his book BEYOND THE THIRTEENTH MILE; THE IRON MAN CHRONICLES. He said that I should read the description, as well as the manuscript if I want inspiration to work out to train for the Cat Rodeo and The Cat Skills Games. I’ll look at it and see if it motivates me to get my (heehaw) in gear.



Jedediah Harper is dissatisfied with his physical condition, so he consults a work friend about his workout habits. His friend is training to compete in the ultimate one-day test of physical fitness, mental toughness, endurance and strategizing: an Ironman distance triathlon. Jed decides to train with Luke, even though he’s unsure of his ability to compete in even the shorter distance triathlons due to injuries he’s suffered. After he falls in love with the sport, Jed sets his sights on accomplishing what Luke is trying to accomplish

The author juxtaposes training for and competing in this difficult event against events in his personal life. A running commentary at the beginning of each chapter reveals the author's thoughts during the race. The author’s faith in God is emphasized throughout the book, making it appealing to Christian sports enthusiasts as well as triathletes and other endurance athletes, such as distance runners, who are trying to overcome injuries and those who like to compete in endurance events.

As an endurance athlete who lost forty pounds and twenty percent of my body fat while training for an Ironman distance triathlon; I believe I have a compelling story to tell about the process I used while training for and competing in this difficult event. As a nurse, I’ve also used my medical knowledge to make suggestions on training for endurance events.



Buddy Bones: I would read the book, or at least the synopsis, my fine feline friend. You may end up where I am if you don’t.

C.: I-I’ll get right on that workout d.c. gave me to do today (and maybe tomorrow’s too)!





22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page