top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner









Time keeps on slippin', slippin', slippin' Into the future Time keeps on slippin', slippin', slippin' Into the future I wanna fly like an eagle To the sea Fly like an eagle, let my spirit carry me I want to fly like an eagle 'Til I'm free Oh Lord, through the revolution Feed the babies Who don't have enough to eat Shoe the children With no shoes on their feet House the people Livin' in the street Oh, oh, there's a solution I want to fly like an eagle To the sea Fly like an eagle, let my spirit carry me I want to fly like an eagle 'Til I'm free Fly through the revolution Time keeps on slippin', slippin', slippin' Into the future Time keeps on slippin', slippin', slippin' Into the future Time keeps on slippin', slippin', slippin' Into the future Time keeps on slippin', slippin', slippin' Into the future I want to fly like an eagle To the sea Fly like an eagle, let my spirit carry me I want to fly like an eagle 'Til I'm free Fly through the revolution Time keeps on slippin', slippin', slippin' Into the future Time keeps on slippin', slippin', slippin' Into the future

Source: Musixmatch

Songwriters: Steve Miller Fly Like an Eagle lyrics © Sailor Music


C.: (ring) d.c. isn’t answering his phone, so I’ll let my mind wander and ask some rhetorical questions about our blog. “If d.c. and my mom and dad are next door neighbors, why do we talk on the phone so much? (ring) Why don’t we just go outside in our front yards and talk? (ring) How can a cat pass a job interview, if the person doing the interview doesn’t speak Catonese? (ring) How can I shovel feces at my work without opposable thumbs? (ring) And, if I’ve been promoted to a traveling position in management, why am I always at The Kennel in Houston still doing my old job?” (rii) Oh, hi, d.c. What’s going on?


d.: I’m sorry that I didn’t answer my phone, Cal.E., but I wanted to take the trash out before the trash truck came. I didn’t want your dad to see me doing it, though, so I waited until he left to go play golf.



C.: Why didn’t you want my dad to see you taking out your garbage, d.c.?


d.: Because I didn’t want him to know that I was throwing away the plant he gave Eudora for Christmas.


C.: Why were you doing that?


d.: Because it was dead.


C.: d.c., that was a plastic plant!


d.: (heavy sigh)I know. I don’t know how it happened, but Horace should have known better than to give my wife any kind of plant, even a plastic one!


C.: Yes, but you worked with my dad in horticulture until he retired. After he retired and sold his company, you went to nursing school and became a nurse. You should still remember your training in horticulture, though, shouldn’t you?


d.: Let’s talk about something else.


C.: Like what?


d.: Well, I’ve come up with a new, kinder, gentler name for my program for people who’ve suffered injuries with permanent effect on their bodies but still want to participate in endurance sports. I’m going to call it “Ill Eagles. A program so good that it should be outlawed.”


C.:…You keep working on that title, d.c.


d.: No, see, the inspirational Biblical verses for the program are Isaiah 40:30-31 New International Version

30 Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; 31 but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.


I quoted those verses for inspiration before and during every endurance event that I participated in. I finshed six marathons, four half Ironman distane triathlons and one full one quoting those verses. II also finished two utlra-marathons within the legal time limit, and one one-half marathon for good measure, along with numerous long-distance bicyle rides. I even had a tee shirt with those verses printed on it. I think that it’s a good name.


C.: (heavy sight) Well, I need to get ready for work now, so I’ll talk to you and our audience tomorrow.





23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page