top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner




Take me out

To the ball game

Take me out

With the crowd

Buy me some peanuts

And Crackerjacks

I don't care if

I never never get back


Let me root, root root

For the home team

If they don't win

It's a shame

For it's one, two,

Three strikes you're out

At the old ball game!




C.: Thanks for taking Ralph and me to a spring training game if Florida, d.c., but whatever possessed you to do this?




d.: Well, I was listening to an Astros’ spring training game on the radio, and they said that today was Cat Day. I’ve never been to a spring training game, and I have the next two days off. Since it was Cat Day, I thought of you (right after Shon, Big Boy and nine of their friends turned me down). Since Eudora has to work for the next four days, I had an extra ticket, so I told you to bring T. Why didn’t he come along?


C.: Well, my husband’s a big baby. Tucker Tucker Two, a.k.a. The Cat Fighter Formerly Known As The Tuxedo (who really needs a shorter nickname) Now Simply Known As T Because Triple T Was Already Taken and I were training for our tag-team cat fight. I had an eyelash in my eye, so I asked T to stop about one-third of the way through our five-mile run. He stopped and turned around so quickly to check on me that he sprained his left hind leg.


d.: Oh, I guess getting on and off a plane with crutches would be hard.





C.: Yes, but the big baby doesn’t need crutches. It’s only a grade three sprain, according to our vet. I had a eyelash in my eye, and I got on the plane just fine! If you ask me, T doesn’t need crutches.  He should man up and train for our cat fight next month, but he instated on putin it off after talking to the vet..


d.:  It does take three to six months to heel from a grade three sprain, and I suppose that the eyelash in your eye explains why your wearing shades, even though its overcast.




Ralph:  Thank you for getting tickets for me to see my favorite baseball team, uncle d.c. The Astros have a fourteen percent chance of winning the World Series this year, according to Basball.com. They’re the co-favorites to win the American League pennant, along with the…


d.: Don’t say those words in my presence!!!!


C.: Yes, Ralph. Never utter the words “New York Yankees” In d.c.’s presence.


d.: Argh!!!!!





Here you go sir. Which cap would you prefer?


d.: Oh, how nice! I didn’t know that y’all would be giving away hats today.


Well, it is hat day


d.: Yes, that’s why I brought these two cats with me. I suppose this is what I get for bringing these cats the game today. I’ll take the retro one from the 1980s, please. Thank you very much. 



There must be a lot of cats here. Almost everyone is wearing a new Astros’ cap.


C.: d.c., is it possible, that, with your  hearing, you heard the radio announcer incorrectly? MIght this be CAP DAY?!


d.: Hmm. That sounds reasonable. Let’s just enjoy the game.


C.: You really need a hearing aid, d.c.


d.: NO! Absolutely not! I‘m not paying for a herring for you! I know that you’re a cat and cat’s like fish, but I’m tapped out after paying for these game and airplane tickets…hey, your cap is cooler than mine. Do you want to trade?




C.: That’s okay. You keep your retro cap, and I’ll enjoy my World Series Champions cap.


d.: How about you let me borrow your cap on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and every other Wednesday?


C.: Pass.


d.: Just every other Wednesday?


Ralph: I’ll trade with you, uncle d.c.





d.: No thanks, Ralph. That’s a pretty generic hat…hey, with both of you here, who’s working at The Kennel tonight?


C. and Ralph: Jodi.





d.:  Jodi?! Well, y’all can probably pick up your last checks and severance pay when we get home. 


The game’s starting, so I suppose that’s all the time we have for today, folks. Please join us tomorrow for another episode of Cal.E.’s Korner.







36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page