top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner



And now the end is near

So I face the final curtain

My friend, I'll say it clear

I'll state my case of which I'm certain

I've lived a life that's full

I've traveled each and every highway

And more, much more than this

I did it my way

Regrets, I've had a few

But then again, too few to mention

I did what I had to do

And saw it through without exception

I planned each charted course

Each careful step along the byway

And more, much more than this

I did it my way

Yes, there were times, I'm sure you know

That I bit off more than I could chew

But through it all when there was doubt

I ate it up and spit it out

I faced it all and I stood tall

And did it my way

I've loved, I've laughed and cried

I've had my fill, my share of losing

And now as tears subside

I find it all so amusing

To think I did all that

And may I say, not in a shy way

Oh, no, no not me

I did it my way

For what is a man, what has he got

If not himself, then he has not

To say the words he truly feels

And not the words of one who kneels

The record shows I took the blows

And did it my way

Source: Musixmatch

Songwriters: Paul Anka / Gilles Thibaut / Claude Francois / Jacques Revaux

My Way lyrics © Barclay Eddie Nouvelles Editions, Jeune Musique Editions



d.:  Elvis Presley was a talented man. He finished fifth in a talent competition when he was ten years old. I’m not sure what happened to the people who finished one through four, but I’m almost sure that we wouldn’t recognized their names. Alive had charisma, charm, and stage presence in addition to his powerful baritone voice.




According to all accounts, Elvis was a generous easy-going man before fame made him try a different life style than he had been raised with. HIs favorite songs were hymns such as “How Great Thou Art.” He was reading the book “A Scientific Search for the Face of Jesus” by Frank O Adams when he died. He started out his adult life humbly, as a truck driver, until his confidence led him to cut a single entitled “That’s All Right, Moma.” That single sold 20,000 copies. That recording put him on his way…to meet Colonel Tom Parker. That may have been the best and worst thing that ever happened to my home state’s favorite icon. Tom Parker served in the military,but was chareged with desrtion. Hid title of Colconel was an honoray one, bestowed on him by Louisianna poitician for serving in the Louisianna milita, but he was a huckster.




Tom Parker was a genius at promoting, but not a nice person. I believe that Tom Hanks’ portrayal of the shyster in the movie “Elvis” was quite accurate. That, according to the person who knew him best, his stepbrother, Rick Stanley, started Elvis on a downward spiral into drugs and alcohol, taking his impressionable stepbrother with him. No one wanted to confront Elvis for fear of being fired, or worse.


Rick Stanley was a  minister after Elvis died. He traveled around the country and told his story. Rick knew that his and Elvis’ lifestyle had cost him years off his life. He died of liver and kidney failure in 2019 at 65.


The point of my history lesson about my favorite performer is this: be careful of the people around you. Elvis had more number one hits on the charts than anyone until the Beatles came to the U.S. Their twenty chart toppers topped Elvis’ number by two. Yet, Elvis’ estate was worth an estimated $700,000, or about three and one-half million dollars in today’s money. There are average major league baseball players whose annual salary is more than twice that much in the twenty-first century..


Cal.E. should be back tomorrow with some interesting takes on animal and human life, so please join my cohost and me tomorrow for another episode of Cal.E.’s Korner.


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page