top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner


C.: d.c., what’s with the picture of the donkey with a bicycle on his back? I don’t understand.


d.: It’s the profile picture for my new program for couch potatoes who want to become physically active. You’re actually the inspiration for this program. I reasoned that if I could train a cat to become active, I could train anyone to want to get into shape.


C.: I still don’t understand.



d.: Okay, it’s a “get in gear program.” A bicycle has gears. And what’s another word for donkey?


C.: Burrough? I don’t own a Burrough. Actually, I would never own another animal. That’s just not right. Wait… New York is made up of five Burroughs, which is more than two, I know that. So, this new program of yours is for New Yorkers only?




d.: No, Cal.E. There’s another word for donkey that some refer to as part of one’s anatomy. Specifically, the back part of one’s anatomy.


C.: I’ve never heard a donkey referred to as a butt, but they are stubborn, so..oh, I see, get your butt in gear!


d.: That’s close enough. Now, are you ready to start your training?


C.: Not really. Maybe I need some inspiration.


d.: (tweet) Okay, you tricolored trollop. Drop and give me twenty now, now, now!


C.: Na, that just doesn’t do it for me, d.c. Try something else.


d.: Okay, then read this. It’s an addendum I added to “Beyond the Thirteenth Mile: The Iron Man Chronicles.”


The main inspiration for this book is all the athletes who ultimately find a way of working around illnesses and injuries to accomplish a goal. Most people who are sports fans and were watching NBA basketball in the last century remember the G.O.A.T., Michael Jordan, playing in game five of the 1997 NBA final and scoring 38 points, seemingly willing his team to victory even though he was suffering from flu-like symptoms. However, Michael Jordan isn’t the only athlete who overcame illness or injury to acquire a victory.

Carlos Moleda, a former Navy SEAL who was shot in the line of duty and was paralyzed from the waist down, has competed in and completed five Hawaiian Ironman distance triathlons. That’s five more than most people with two healthy legs will ever even attempt! In addition to completing the Hawaiian Ironman distance World Championship Triathlon five times, Moleda has also climbed Mt. Kilimanjaro and completed the grueling Race Across America. This race involves riding a bicycle from Oceanside, California to Annapolis Maryland. During this race, the participants transverse the entire continental United States. The caveat is that there are no untimed rest periods. The winner, in terms of time, is the person who completes the race in the least amount of time, including sleeping and resting periods. Moleda has completed this ride using only his arms, since his legs are paralyzed. As any well-trained athlete or student of anatomy knows, the strongest muscles are in one’s legs. Moleda exemplifies the motto “all in all the time.” For Moleda and other physically challenged athletes like David Bailey, the only easy day was yesterday.

Bailey competed in the Hawaiian Ironman triathlon after being paralyzed from the waist down as a result of a motorcycle accident. He was able to win his division at the 2000 Hawaiian Ironman, three years after he entered it for the first time. He experienced a natural progression, finishing third, second, and finally first in his division on his third attempt. These two are truly inspirational characters in a world obsessed with mechanization.

C.: That’s only half of it, but I’m inspired. I’ll finish the rest tomorrow. Right now, I’m pumped to do a five mile run on my four good legs!

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page