top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner



Deep down in Louisiana close to New Orleans

Way back up in the woods among the evergreens

There stood a log cabin made of earth and wood

Where lived a country boy named Johnny B. Goode

Who never ever learned to read or write so well

But he could play a guitar just like a-ringin' a bell

Go, go

Go Johnny, go, go

Go Johnny, go, go

Go Johnny, go, go

Go Johnny, go, go

Johnny B. Goode

He used to carry his guitar in a gunny sack

Go sit beneath the tree by the railroad track

Oh, the engineers would see him sitting in the shade

Strumming with the rhythm that the drivers made

The people passing by they would stop and say

"Oh my what that little country boy could play"

Go, go

Go Johnny, go, go

Go Johnny, go, go

Go Johnny, go, go

Go Johnny, go, go

Johnny B. Goode

His mother told him "someday you will be a man

And you will be the leader of a big old band

Many people coming from miles around

To hear you play your music when the sun go down

Maybe someday your name will be in lights

Saying "Johnny B. Goode tonight"

Go, go

Go Johnny, go

Go, go, go Johnny, go

Go, go, go Johnny, go

Go, go, go Johnny, go

Go

Johnny B. Goode

Source: LyricFind

Songwriters: Chuck Berry

Johnny B. Goode lyrics © Entertainment One U.S. Lp, Kanjian Music



March 10, 2024: Southeast Texas Cluster of prisons; 0600:






Inmate: Well, we played six games of full-court basketball yesterdeay, but my team only had four players. We had to hustle to keep up with the five on the other team, but we won.





Inmate: Yes, I’ve been working on that. Since I’ve been medically unassigned because of my leg injury, I have plenty of free time now. I’m glad that you can do insulin so fast, Mr. scot. If the other shift were here, I would have left. They waste too much of my valuable time. They take 30.06 seconds longer than you do to do the same amount of patients.



d.:  Oh, and don’t forget your cane. I brought it back for you when I saw that y’all had left and it was still at the basketball court when I came back from lunch. I  knew it was yours, and that you would come for your insulin this morning; so I brought it to the medical department for you.


I.: Oh, thanks. I really need this. Without it, I would have to go to work!


d.: Next!


Corrections officer: He was the last insulin patient today. I’m glad of that because I had to work overtime yesterday. The second shift was short of officers.

d.: I saw ten officers standing around the coffee maker when I came back from lunch. They were all second-shift officers.



C.O: Yes, they all decided to take their break first thing after roll call. That’s why I had to stay for two extra minutes yesterday. I didn’t get to my car until five minutes ‘till two.


d.: And you worked overtime? I thought that your shift ended at two.


C.O.: It does, but they give us fifteen minutes to get to our vehicles.


d.: We only get seven.


C.O. That’s because you nurses are in better shape than we are.


d.: Aren’t you and your coworkers supposed to be keeping contract workers and visitors safe on this unit?


C.O.: That’s a common misconception. We’re here to control the inmates and protect ourselves and our coworkers. If something happens, your on your own.


d.: (It’s a good thing I know where all the sharps are and how to get to them quickly).


C.O.: If this continues, we might go on strike.


d.: I think that’s a bad idea.


C.O.: Why? Where will they find people who are capable of replacing us?


d.: (Maybe at the home store’s parking lot? Day laborers at least want to work when the get the opportunity). If you strike, they may bring in cheaper labor. You do know what happened to the human cage cleaners, don’t you?


C.O.: I haven’t seen any of them for a while, I just thought they’d gone on a long break.


d.: No. Their union struck, so the State fired them all. They were replaced by cats. The Working Association (of) Cats and Other (pets) took their jobs. 


C.O.: How do you know this?


d.: I’m friends with the head WACO, Cal.E. Kat. They work for food and all the rodents they can catch and kill in this place (which is a lot!)



C.O.: Well, it’s about time for me to take a break. Ten minutes at a time is my limit, but I’ll need to walk out to my car and eat.


d.: Why?


C.O.: Because I have contraband to eat. I have a salami sandwich.


d.: That’s allowed in here, isn’t it?


C.O.: It is, but I don’t want to eat it dry. Condiments are only allowed inside on alternate Wednesdays…


d.: And days that end in nine; and this is neither. I guess you got your sandwich in yesterday, then, didn’t you?


C.O.: I was fasting yesterday, so I didn’t eat anything from noon until three p.m. I’ll need to lock you in here by yourself since your coworker hasn’t shown up yet. I guess she didn’t realize that the time changed today, even though it’s been in the newspaper, on the radio and on the television news for the last week. If a fire breaks out or something else happens, call the desk.


d.: But the phone in here doesn’t work, and I’m claustrophobic! 

(Click).

To be continued



13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page