top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner



I was totin' my pack along the dusty Winnemucca road

When along came a semi with a high an' canvas-covered load

"If you're goin' to Winnemucca, Mack, with me you can ride"

And so I climbed into the cab, and then I settled down inside

He asked me if I'd seen a road with so much dust and sand

And I said, "Listen, I've traveled every road in this here land"

… I've been everywhere, man

I've been everywhere, man

Crossed the deserts bare, man

I've breathed the mountain air, man

Of travel I've had my share, man

I've been everywhere

… I've been to Reno, Chicago, Fargo, Minnesota

Buffalo, Toronto, Winslow, Sarasota

Wichita, Tulsa, Ottawa, Oklahoma

Tampa, Panama, Mattawa, La Paloma

Bangor, Baltimore, Salvador, Amarillo

Tocapillo, Baranquilla, and Perdilla, I'm a killer

… I've been everywhere, man

I've been everywhere, man

Crossed the deserts bare, man

I've breathed the mountain air, man

Of travel I've had my share, man

I've been everywhere

… I've been to Boston, Charleston, Dayton, Louisiana

Washington, Houston, Kingston, Texarkana

Monterey, Faraday, Santa Fe, Tallapoosa

Glen Rock, Black Rock, Little Rock, Oskaloosa

Tennessee to Tennesse Chicopee, Spirit Lake

Grand Lake, Devils Lake, Crater Lake, for Pete's sake

… I've been everywhere, man

I've been everywhere, man

Crossed the desert's bare, man

I've breathed the mountain air, man

Of travel I've had my share, man

I've been everywhere

… I've been to Louisville, Nashville, Knoxville, Ombabika

Schefferville, Jacksonville, Waterville, Costa Rica

Pittsfield, Springfield, Bakersfield, Shreveport

Hackensack, Cadillac, Fond du Lac, Davenport

Idaho, Jellico, Argentina, Diamantina,

Pasadena, Catalina, see what I mean

… I've been everywhere, man

I've been everywhere, man

Crossed the desert's bare, man

I've breathed the mountain air, man

Of travel I've had my share, man

I've been everywhere

… I've been to Pittsburgh, Parkersburg, Gravelburg, Colorado

Ellensburg, Rexburg, Vicksburg, El Dorado

Larimore, Atmore, Haverstraw, Chatanika

Chaska, Nebraska, Alaska, Opelika

Baraboo, Waterloo, Kalamazoo, Kansas City

Sioux City, Cedar City, Dodge City, what a pity

… I've been everywhere, man

I've been everywhere, man

Crossed the desert's bare, man

I've breathed the mountain air, man

Of travel I've had my share, man

I've been everywhere

… I've been everywhere

Source: Musixmatch

Songwriters: Albert Geoffrey Mcelhinney

I’ve Been Everywhere lyrics © Rightsong Music Inc., Rightsong Music, Inc.



C: d.c., I think you got confused yesterday and sent me a copy of your homework instead of what you wanted to put on our blog, although it was interesting. I may try blood doping myself when Tucker and I have our championship cat fighting matches. As you know from being a referee and cat fighting announcer, anything goes in cat fighting.




d.: Yes, Cal.E., I do know that from experience. Also, I think that I sent you a rough draft of what I was going to turn in for my class. What I was going to send you was an idea for a medical television show.


C.: What’s it called?


d.: Texas Tim, the Traveling Triage Nurse.


C.: That sounds interesting. What’s it about?


d.: It’s about a traveling triage nurse named Tim who works all over Texas. Since he has a compact license, he also works in other states on occasion. 


C.: Explain, please.


d.: Well, there are a lot of medical shows in television, but none are based in Houston, or even any other city in Texas. Texas, and Houston in particular, have the reputation as having the best hospitals for treatment of chronic and potentially terminal illnesses in the southern part of the United States; so I wrote a show about a triage nurse who works all over Texas but is based in Houston.


C.: Most of those shows are more about backstories that illnesses.


d.: Yes, they are. That’s why I added that element. You see, a triage nurse only hears each patient’s problems and then decides who needs to be treated first.


C.: So, unlike vet. clinics, human hospitals aren’t first come, first serve?


d.: No, not exactly. Especially not in an emergency room. For instance, someone with chest pain would be put in to be seen ahead of someone with a sprained ankle, or even a broken bone. The triage nurse would want to rule out a heart attack with the first patient. Profuse bleeders and people who may be contagious would also take priority, because you’d want them out of the waiting room. You don’t want someone to bleed on someone else, or bleed to death, either. Also, people who may only have a common cold may be treated before others, because they can contaminate the whole waiting room.


C.: So, what is going to make this show interesting?


d.: Well, most of the time, the triage nurse only hears the patients’ symptoms and then decides whom to prioritize to be seen first In my show, Tim will hear the backstories before he decides who goes first if both have the same problem, arrive at the same time, and have similar factors.


C.: Like what?


d.: The pilot episode will be about two grandfathers in their seventies. Both present with chest pain at an eight on a zero to ten scale. The first one raised his grandchildren, but they are all grown. However, they still depend on him for advice and financial assistance at times. He’s a widower, and these adults have no other reliable relatives to help them.


The second one is a man who works with Big Brothers/Big Sisters of Houston. A lot of the young men he’s mentored give him credit for keeping them out of jail and prison and becoming productive citizens, and he’s still heavily involved in this charity.


C.: So, when he learns the backstories, which one of the two men does Texas Tim decide to let go first?

d.: I haven’t written the end yet, so you and our audience will need to tune in tomorrow to Cal.E.’s Korner for the answer.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page