top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E's Korner











We're caught in a trap I can't walk out Because I love you too much, baby Why can't you see What you're doing to me When you don't believe a word I say?

We can't go on together With suspicious minds (suspicious minds) And we can't build our dreams On suspicious minds

So if an old friend I know Stops by to say hello Would I still see suspicion in your eyes? Here we go again Asking where I've been You can't see the tears are real, I'm crying (Yes I'm crying)

We can't go on together With suspicious minds (suspicious minds) And we can't build our dreams On suspicious minds

Oh, let our love survive I'll dry the tears from your eyes Let's don't let a good thing die When honey, you know I've never lied to you Mmm, yeah, yeah

We're caught in a trap I can't walk out Because I love you too much, baby Why can't you see What you're doing to me When you don't believe a word I say?

Well, don't you know I'm caught in a trap? I can't walk out Because I love you too much, baby Well, don't you know I'm caught in a trap? I can't walk out Because I love you too much, baby

Well, don't you know I'm caught in a trap? I can't walk out Because I love you too much, baby Well, don't you know I'm caught in a trap? I can't walk out Because I love you too much, baby

Well, don't you know I'm caught in a trap? I can't walk out Because I love you too much, baby Well, don't you know I'm caught in a trap? I can't walk out Because I love you too much, baby

Well, don't you know I'm caught in a trap?

Source: Musixmatch

Songwriters: Mark James

Suspicious Minds lyrics © Sony/atv Songs Llc


C.: Hey, d.c., my mom and dad want to invite you to go out to eat dinner with them tonight.



d.: Which restaurant is it?

C.: IDK

d.: What kind of food do they serve?

C.: IDK

d.: Where is the restaurant?

C.: I don’t know that either, but it sounds good.


d.: I think I’ll pass.


C.: What’s wrong, d.c.? You sound like you’re down in the dumps.


d.: Yes, I guess that I am. IDK wat’s wrong.


C.: Is it because Buddy Bones died this week? Or maybe because I let that kitten out of The Kennel?


d.: No, I don’ think that’s it. If Buddy Bones were human, he would’ve been in his mid-nineties. Besides, I think he died the way he wanted to die: In our bed with his body pressed up against his human mom’s body. I think he wanted it that way.

If something like that would depress me, it would have been when my German Shepard died. She was the best dog I ever had, but I’m glad that I had a chance to say goodbye to her before she died. Both she and Buddy Bones passed peacefully in their sleep at a good age. That’s the best way to die.

And we found the kitten in time to give him his meds. Thanks for the help, by the way. He’s alive and well. I don’t think that’s it, either.


C.: Is it because you haven’t sold your new novel yet?


d.: No, that takes time, and I’ve already gotten a few bites. Besides, I see rejection letters as a positive thing. If the agent or publisher is interested enough to tell you why they didn’t want the book, it means that they were interested enough to at least read it. I use that information to improve my books. That’s not why I feel so bad.


Oh, man! I can’t do anything right! I feel like I’m caught in a trap and I can’t escape from it.


C.: Why do you say that, d.c.? You finished an Ironman distance triathlon, college and nursing school, and wrote several books. Most people don’t accomplish any where near that many things in their lifetime, and your just…middle-aged.


d.: I lost my spare set of keys to my truck. I lose everything.


C.: You do have a bad memory, but you almost always find what you’re looking for eventually. Besides, you obviously have the main set of keys to your truck, or you wouldn’t have been able to come here. How’s your health?


d.: Fine. I rode twenty-one miles on the stationary bike at the gym this morning in less than 65 minutes. Then I came home and lifted weights and did calisthenics and Pilate stretches after I picked up groceries. After that, I ran a 10K. Physically, I’m fine, but I just don’t feel right.


C..: Maybe I'm just tired, then.


d.: Well, I am tired, but that''s usually a good feeling, knowing that I accomplished a lot today.


C.: You’re so meticulous about keeping your body in good physical condition that I would think that you would do the same for your brain. Maybe you should see a doctor…


d.: I’ve seen all my doctors recently.


C.: You need to add one more, I think. Middle-aged men are the age group with the second highest incidence of depression, right behind teenagers. The suicide rate in your age group is almost as high as it is with teenagers. Go see someone soon, d.c. You can’t afford not to.


d.: May you’re right, Cal.E. I’ll call and see if I can get an appointment soon.*


* Cal.E. and I joke about a lot of things in this blog, but clinical depression is no joking matter. Cal.E.’s figures were accurate, and it’s more prevalent around holidays centered around family and loved ones. While I personally don’t suffer from clinical depression, many of my friends and acquaintances have. If you, or someone you know suffers from sever depression, please call 1- 800-273-TALK (8255)



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page