top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner









See him wasted on the sidewalk, in his jacket and his jeans

Wearin' yesterday's misfortunes like a smile

Once he had a future full of money, love and dreams

Which he spent like they was goin' out of style

And he keeps right on a-changin' for the better or the worse

Searchin' for a shrine he's never found

Never knowin' if believin' is a blessin' or a curse

Or if the goin' up was worth the comin' down

He's a poet

He's a picker

He's a prophet

He's a pusher

He's a pilgrim and a preacher and a problem when he's stoned

He's a walkin' contradiction

Partly truth and partly fiction

Taking every wrong direction on his lonely way back home

He has tasted good and evil in your bedrooms and your bars

And he's traded in tomorrow for today

Runnin' from his devils, lord and reachin' for the stars

And losin' all he loves along the way

But if this world keeps right on turnin' for the better or the worse

And all he ever gets is older and around

From the rockin' of the cradle to the rollin' of the hearse

The goin' up was worth the comin' down

He's a poet

He's a liar

He's a prophet

He's a dreamer

He's a pilgrim and a preacher and a problem when he's stoned

He's a walkin' contradiction

Partly truth and partly fiction

Taking every wrong direction on his lonely way back home

Source: Musixmatch

Songwriters: Kris Kristofferson

The Pilgrim lyrics © Resaca Music Publishing Co.




d.: Hey, Cal.E., I haven’t seen you around the neighborhood lately. One of the workouts I had you and your kittens do involved walking around the neighborhood while doing Tai Chi. What gives?


C.: I’ve been busier than a hungry tom cat in a rat infested barn.


d.: What’s taking up so much of your time?


C.: I’m writing the greatest work of fiction of all time.


d.: What are you writing, Cal.E.?


C.: My resume.


d.: Why are you doing that? Are you planning on leaving The Kennel and getting a new job?


C.: No, nothing like that. Because I’m in management, The Kennel wants me to have a profile on LinkIn, like everyone else in the world. The management at The Kennel thinks it will help with recruiting working pets if they see a cat with a good job on that website. However, my work history on this planet is kind of sparse, to say the least. I’m just making stuff up and writing it on my resume, like many humans do.


d.: I’d be very careful, Cal.E. Most of the humans who lie on their resumes get caught eventually. We live in the “information age.” All the information from the beginning of recorded history is available for anyone and everyone to review with just a click of a mouse. You’ll get caught if you lie on your resume, which may lead to you being fired from your job.


C.: Well, you have a point, but how many people would believe that a cat has a job supervising other animals who are cleaning out jail cells and animal cages? Even that is a little far-fetched, if you ask me. It will all sound made up. So, when someone checks the facts about my latest job and sees that it’s the truth, they’ll probably stop there and believe the rest of my resume. I think it’s a good plan.


d.: I don’t know, Cal.E. It’s dangerous to lie about things anyone can look up. Just be careful is all I’m saying.


C.: Oh, I’m not putting anything so unbelievable that it would be questioned. Now, where was I? Oh, yes, my job as a roadie touring with The Rolling Stones. That was immediately after Bob Seegar fired me as his songwriter and before I played the drums for Motley Crew. Now, all I must do is fill in the two years between that job and the one I have now. Hmm… The CEO of a cat food company sounds good, as long as it’s one no one can check the facts on.


d.: Well, I don’t like where this is going, and we’re out of time for today, anyway. Please join my co-host (if she doesn’t get indicted for falsifying legal documents) and me tomorrow for another episode of Cal.E.’s Korner.





22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page