top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner











I’m Beginning to See the Light

Song by Duke Ellington and Joya Sherrill


I never cared much for moonlit skies I never wink back at fireflies But now that the stars are in your eyes I'm beginning to see the light I never went in for afterglow Or candlelight on the mistletoe But now when you turn the lamp down low I'm beginning to see the light Used to ramble through the park Shadowboxing in the dark Then you came and caused a spark That's a four-alarm fire now I never made love by lantern-shine I never saw rainbows in my wine But now that your lips are burning mine I'm beginning to see the light

Yes, I never cared much for moonlit skies I never wink back at fireflies But now that the stars are in your eyes I'm beginning I never went in for afterglow Or candlelight on the mistletoe But now when you turn the lamp down low I'm beginning Used to ramble through the park Shadowboxing in the dark Then you came and caused a spark That's a four-alarm fire now I never made love by lantern-shine I never saw rainbows in my wine But now that your lips are burning mine I'm beginning


Source: Musixmatch

Songwriters: Duke Ellington / Don George / Johnny Hodges / Harry James

I’m Beginning to See the Light lyrics © Chappell & Co. Inc., Famous Music Llc, Campbell Connelly And Co. Ltd., Campbell Connelly And Co.ltd., Ricki Music Company, Chappell & Co., Inc., Redwood Music Ltd


C.: Now that I’m awake, I need something to occupy my mind until I go to work. Cats don’t really watch television, and I don’t feel like reading right now. I’ll call d.c. and ask him if he has any juicy gossip from work. While I’m calling him, I’ll let my mind wander and ask some rhetorical questions like:

“Is there any real difference between a tortoise and a turtle?” (ring) Or a Belgian shepherd and a Belgian Malinois? How about a Dutch Shepard and a Belgian or German shepherd?” (ring) I mean, all dogs are annoying, and these dogs are all basically the same breed of dog, just different sizes and athletic ability. How about a giant poodle and a standard poodle? Aren’t they the same thing? (ring) A toy poodle and a French poodle? (Rii)


d.: d.c. scot; go.


C.: What? No ‘d.c. scot, nurse, author and receptionist?’ No ‘The Kennel, where your wish is our desire? No ‘the correctional facility voted the most palpable by former inmates here’*? No how may I be of service to you on this extraordinarily hot day in May?’


d.: You forgot ‘in the Greater Houston area as well as all of Southeast Texas.’ Anyway, I knew it was you, so didn’t go through my spiel.


C.: How did you know it was me?


d.: You called me on my cell phone, and I’m at home. I’m right next door to you, and I can see you talking on the phone through my dining room window!


C.: Oh, I forgot that you get off work four hours before I begin my shift. Anyway, did you hear any juicy gossip? I mean, that is the main reason that I work here, at The Kennel, to hear stories about other people. That’s what I’ve been waiting for for four hours!


d.: No, I don’t think so. Oh, yes, one inmate ripped his pants, so he had to sew them back up. Otherwise, it was so boring at work that I almost fell asleep!


C.: Who was it?


d.: Inmate number 5271345


C.: Oh, I know him, he is a so-and-so. Anyway, I knew that he would need a new pair of pants when I saw him walking around in them the other day.


d.: How so?


C.: He said that he was working at The Kennel Fair when he tore his pants the first time, but his fare for working there didn’t cover them tailoring his pants to his big behind. He didn’t think that was very fair!


d.: Well, ordinarily, except for the kennel fair, the fair comes to town in the early fall and involves a Ferris wheel and cotton candy. That’s the only fair there is in life!


C.: And this conversation is getting fairly ridiculous! It’s taxing my brain so much that I want to avoid any further conversations until I get to work, so I’ll avoid them by not riding the bus to work tonight. I’ll just pay the fare for a ride share to work tonight. My coworkers may not think that that isn’t very fair, but I could care less! I am the supervisor!


d.: Don’t you mean that you couldn’t care less? I mean, if you could care less, then that means that you do care a little, and that means that you care about your coworkers…


C.: Well, that’s all the time we have for today, folks, please join us tomorrow for another episode of Cal.E.’s Korner.


* This does not represent the opinion of the author or anyone else associated with Cal.E.’s Korner or any correctional facility in the state of Texas (or probably any other state in the union). This is a highly subjective opinion. The poll that was taken didn’t include any other correctional facilities, so the former inmates really had no choice but to vote for their former home. This wasn’t a scientific survey at all. It was done by the people who poll the general public asking whom each person will vote for in the next election (and we all know how accurate those polls are!).


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page