top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner





Money Get away You get a good job with more pay and you're okay Money It's a gas Grab that cash with both hands and make a stash New car, caviar, four star, daydream Think I'll buy me a football team Money Get back I'm alright, Jack, keep your hands off of my stack Money It's a hit Don't give me that do goody good bullshit I'm in the high-fidelity first-class traveling set And I think I need a Lear jet Money It's a crime Share it fairly, but don't take a slice of my pie Money So they say Is the root of all evil today But if you ask for a rise It's no surprise that they're giving none away Away, away, away Away, away, away I was in the right Yes, absolutely in the right I certainly was in the right Yeah, I was definitely in the right, that geezer was cruisin' for a bruisin' Yeah! Why does anyone do anything? I don't know, I was really drunk at the time Just telling him it was in, he could get it in number two He was asking why it wasn't coming up on freight eleven And after, I was yelling and screaming and telling him why It wasn't coming up on freight eleven Source: Musixmatch Songwriters: Roger Waters Money lyrics © Roger Waters Music Overseas Ltd



C.: I’ll use the two crips new one-hundred-dollar bills d.c. had in his new wallet that Eudora gave him for his birthday last year as my “something new” for my wedding. That’s where I found the calculations that ELAC made, and I deserve a finder’s fee for finding those calculations, anyway. One hundred dollars sounds fair. The other new one-hundred-dollar bill can be d.c.’s wedding present to me.

d.c. will never miss that money, anyway. He’s such a creature of habit that he doesn’t want to change from the wallet he’s been using for the last twenty years. HE told Eudora that he would use the new wallet as his special place to put important things, like those calculations. His parents gave him that money for his birthday the last two years so that he and his family could have a nice meal on his birthday at their favorite restaurant. d.c. put that money in his new wallet and forgot that he even received it from his parents. Now, my wedding plans are done, so I can take that catnap after I call d.c. and ask him to wake me up when he gets off from work.


d.: Ring) Hi, Cal.E., give me one moment, please. “Sir, you cannot walk in here without an appointment unless you are having a life-threatening emergency. You probably just slept on your neck wrong last night, or today, I guess. The first two times you came in to try to see the provider, your neck was fine. Now, you say it’s sore. Go take a hot shower and see if that relieves the tension in your neck. If not, make an appointment with the provider.”


Inmate: But I’ll be charged for that!

d.: And you’ll be charged even more if you walk in with a nonemergency. Goodbye!


C.: I was going to ask you for a wake-up call before you left work, but it sounds like you’re busy, d.c.


d.: Not really. That was the only person who came in today. He’s been here three times saying he couldn’t walk because of his neck. However, he lifted weights in the weight room this morning, walked about a quarter of a mile to chow and walked in here from his cell three times. It seems that he’s walking pretty well to me. At least well enough to go to work tonight, which he doesn’t want to do.


C.: And he wants you to write him an excuse?


d.: Yes, but I can’t. That can only come from our unit provider, who will only do that if the inmate is on his death bed, or has broken bones. The inmates don’t call him “Dr. Death” for nothing.


C.: I’ve heard them talk about him when I’m cleaning cells. He seems like a real harda--.

d.: not really. Unlike the last two units I worked on, these guys are healthy. And they signed an agreement to hold down a job for four hours a day and go to classes four hours a day before they could get into this program.


C.: Why would they agree to do that? Most of the inmates don’t want to do anything!


d.: True. But if they can stick with this program, they can get out of The Kennel in two to three years after they start it, even if they’re nowhere near completing their flat time for the offense they were put into The Kennel for. Not every inmate is eligible. Some will never get out of The Kennel, but most of these guys have done most of their time, anyway. A lot of them are ex-military, so they’re more disciplined than other inmates. That guy is probably just scared, because he just got here and he must go to a maximum security kennel to work.


C.: Why?


d.: Because the inmates there can’t be trusted to do anything. They spend all day in their cells, while inmates from other kennels cook, clean, and wash their dishes and clothes.


C.: It sounds like it would be better to be at a higher-level security kennel than a low or intermediate level one.


d.: Not really. Think how boring it would be to sit and do nothing all day.


C.: d.c., I’m a cat! I like to sit and do nothing all day. Speaking of which, I need to take my nap now so that I’ll be fresh for my job tonight, which I enjoy doing, and… I see your point, d.c. Can you wake me up in about three hours? That should give me enough time to groom myself before I go to work.


d.: I will, Cal.E. Have a good nap and I’ll see you tomorrow right here on Cal.E.’s Korner.


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page