top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Corner



LIFE'S A DANCE


When I was fourteen I was fallin' fast For a blue eyed girl in my homeroom class Tryin' to find the courage to ask her out Was like tryin' to get oil from a waterspout

What she would have said I can't say I never did ask and she moved away But I learned somethin' from my blue eyed girl Sink or swim you gotta give it a whirl

Life's a dance you learn as you go Sometimes you lead, sometimes you follow Don't worry about what you don't know Life's a dance you learn as you go

The longer I live the more I believe You do have to give if you wanna receive There's a time to listen, a time to talk And you might have to crawl even after you walk

Had sure things blow up in my face Seen the long shot, win the race Been knocked down by the slammin' door Picked myself up and came back for more

Life's a dance you learn as you go Sometimes you lead, sometimes you follow Don't worry about what you don't know Life's a dance you learn as you go

Life's a dance you learn as you go Sometimes you lead, sometimes you follow Don't worry about what you don't know Life's a dance you learn as you go

Life's a dance you learn as you go Sometimes you lead, sometimes you follow Don't worry about what you don't know Life's a dance you learn as you go

Life's a dance, life's a dance Life's a dance, take a chance on love Life's a dance, you learn as you go

Source: Musixmatch

Songwriters: Steve Jay Seskin / James Allen Ii Shamblin


Life's a Dance lyrics © Universal Music - Mgb Songs, Almo Music Corp., Sony/atv Cross Keys Publishing, David Aaron Music


C.: d.c., why did you post the lyrics to an old country song at the beginning of our blog. Does this song mean something to you?



d.: It sure does, Cal.E. Neither is it my favorite song, nor is John Michael Montgomery my favorite singer. However, the lyrics to this song have been running through my mind all day.


C.: Why is that, d.c.?


d.: Because, Cal.E., I think the chorus is very true. Right now, I have three “irons in the fire,” so to speak. I took the lead in writing the words to three different books and turned them over to other people to edit, critique, and otherwise scrutinize. Now, all I can do is wait for their responses. Now, instead of leading, I’m following.

When I was younger, I thought I might want to be a dance instructor, so I took lessons to accomplish this. It was just as important, my teacher said, to learn how to follow someone else’s lead as to learn how to lead. Then, I would be able to explain to another person what she (or he, as the case may be) is doing, both right and wrong, and how to correct the latter.


C.: Why didn’t you become a dance instructor, d.c.?


d.: Because I had a full-time job, and this one required more of a time commitment than I could commit then. Besides, I was doing it more to impress someone that I had been dating than anything else.

That relationship ended, and it discouraged me. I didn’t want to continue to be reminded of how it ended, so I stopped taking the dance instructor lessons.


C.: And then you met Eudora, and everyone lived happily ever after!


d.: Eventually, yes. That took a few years, though. In between, there was a lot of confusion about the person I had been dating. When I gave up on her, I met someone else almost immediately. However, she was (exactly) the same age as my former girlfriend, so the same problem presented itself.


C: Which was?


d.: She didn’t want any more children, just like the woman I was head over heels in love with. When Eudora came along, I made sure to ask that question early in the relationship. It was fortunate that I did that, because that led to us becoming foster and adoptive parents, something that I wouldn’t have wanted to miss. It wouldn’t have been possible, though, if I had continued to try to “lead” and given up my hope of becoming a father.

My best friend then told me that, if I wanted to be a father, I must start dating women who were younger. I started my dating life by dating someone slightly older than me and continued that pattern for most of my life. Eudora was one of only two women I ever dated that were more than two years younger than me.

My best friend introduced me to Eudora, and we have been together for the last twenty-three years.


C.: Wow, that’s a LOT higher than I can count. I know how many times I’ve been married, though, twice, just like you!


d.: Yes. I wasn’t aware that you had been married on planet POTT-C until you told me. And now, you have a job and are taking care of twelve of your fourteen children. You also have a good relationship with their dad, so I would say your life has turned out well, too, Cal.E.


C.: And I’ve learned to handle my catnip! I’ve never missed a day of work because I was hungover!

d.: You called in “sick’’ just last week, Cal.E.! You told me you had too much catnip the night before…


C.: That’s true, d.c., I didn’t COME to work, but I didn’t MISS it!


d.: That’s all the time we have today, folks. Tune in tomorrow for more of Cal.E.’s Corner.




22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page