top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Corner



Rising up, back on the street Did my time, took my chances Went the distance, now I'm back on my feet Just a man and his will to survive

So many times it happens too fast You change your passion for glory Don't lose your grip on the dreams of the past You must fight just to keep them alive

It's the eye of the tiger It's the thrill of the fight Rising up to the challenge of our rival And the last known survivor Stalks his prey in the night And he's watching us all with the eye of the tiger

Face to face, out in the heat Hanging tough, staying hungry They stack the odds 'til we take to the street For the kill with the skill to survive

It's the eye of the tiger It's the thrill of the fight Rising up to the challenge of our rival And the last known survivor Stalks his prey in the night And he's watching us all with the eye of the tiger

Rising up straight to the top Had the guts, got the glory Went the distance, now I'm not going to stop Just a man and his will to survive

It's the eye of the tiger It's the thrill of the fight Rising up to the challenge of our rival And the last known survivor Stalks his prey in the night And he's watching us all with the eye of the tiger The eye of the tiger The eye of the tiger The eye of the tiger The eye of the tiger

Source: Musixmatch



C.: Hey, d.c. Did you forget we were going to write our blog together today?

d.: Yes, Cal.E., I did. I got a little carried away…

C.: With what?

d.: My book, “Beyond the Thirteenth Mile; The Iron Man Chronicles will be coming out soon. I wanted to “look the part” when the book came out.

C.: How so?

d.: Well, 21 years ago, I had nine percent body fat and my muscle mass burned five thousand calories a day. I could run ten miles or swim two miles and, when I took my blood pressure, it was always ideal; no matter how far I swam, ran, or cycled. I just want to get back to a semblance of that condition.

C.: How are you doing with that?

d.: As of today, I’ve lost twenty pounds and my cardiologist reduced my blood pressure medicine by one-fourth. I think I’m on the right path but staying disciplined is the key.

C.: Do you mean like setting a time aside each day to exercise and get your heart rate elevated, which will drive down your blood pressure readings?

d.: That and staying disciplined with my diet. Since I stopped worrying so much about what I ate, I’ve had a lot of health problems. I think my life proves the old saying, “You are what you eat.”

C.: So, you’re saying I’m canned sardines, tuna and chicken cat food, and smelly garbage?

d.: Not so much that, Cal.E. My analogy is this. Race cars have special fuel, usually made from corn. If the driver puts regular, unleaded gasoline in that car, it won’t run well (if at all). If the driver puts premium fuel in a ten-year-old domestic car, though, it will run much better. The human body is much like a vehicle. What''s consumed makes a huge difference in how it performs.

C.: Can you think of any examples, besides the race car one?

d.: Yes, Cal.E., I can, from my own life. When I was in ideal condition, I was a nationally ranked triathlete capable of competing in an Ironman distance triathlon in just over fifteen hours. Then I “retired” from that, and stopped being obsessive about what I ate.

When I was racing, I taught Eudora how to look at labels and make sure that my food was acceptable. Although I found I must consume five thousand calories daily to maintain my weight, I tried to never eat anything more than thirty percent fat. I tried to eat forty percent complex carbohydrates, twenty-five percent protein, fifteen percent simple carbs (i.e. sugar for quick energy), and no more than twenty percent fat, preferably polyunsaturated fat. That diet worked well for me. When I stopped worrying about what I ate, though, my health went downhill quickly. I’m just trying to get back to where I was twenty years ago, even if I no longer compete.

C.: Good luck with that! I would rather eat what I want and die happy than be miserable and healthy!

d.: That’s a common misconception, Cal.E. Once one has his/her body trained, it will crave what it needs to accomplish what it knows is in store. That food will actually taste better to him or her than if s/he ate something unhealthy that s/he formerly enjoyed.

C.: I suppose your right! I crave catnip constantly now, and my body is trained to want to consume it! Maybe I should become a competitive catnip eater. I think I will begin my training immediately!

d.: So much for sage advice. People (and, apparently, cats), hear what they want to hear!



31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page