top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Corner




I went home with the waitress, the way I always do How was I to know, she was with the Russians, too?

… I was gambling in Havana, I took a little risk Send lawyers, guns and money, dad, get me out of this, ha

… I'm the innocent bystander Somehow I got stuck between the rock and a hard place And I'm down on my luck, yes I'm down on my luck Well, I'm down on my luck

… And I'm hiding in Honduras I'm a desperate man Send lawyers, guns, and money The shit has hit the fan

… Alright, send lawyers, guns, and money Huh, yeah Send lawyers, guns, and money Uh Send lawyers, guns, and money Hey Send lawyers, guns, and money Oo, yeah Yeah Yeah

Source: Musixmatch

Songwriters: Warren William Zevon

Lawyers, Guns and Money lyrics © Zevon Music, Songs Of Universal Inc.


d.: Well, Cal.E. is still sleeping off performing her first live performance with the Roccat's, and I’m, back from “Parts Unknown,” where the wifi reception is practically nonexistent. It looks as though I will be doing the blog solo today because of these two factors. That’s fine, because something has been running through my mind since my workout and a brief discussion with some of the “wise council” at the gym where I work out on a semi-regular basis.


When I was in nursing school, I had one instructor who taught techniques for different procedures two different ways. The first way she taught us to do a procedure was the way it was expected to be done in a clinical setting. “This is the way you would do this procedure under ‘ideal circumstance`,’ she said. I raised my hand.


“How many people’s health,” I thought for a moment, I wanted to word my question accurately, “is in ideal shape when s/he visits a doctor or is put into a hospital?. And aren’t these procedures done because the patient’s health is NOT ideal?”


“My point exactly,” My instructor began again. “That is why I will teach you a technique that actually works, once I teach you the technique I’m required to teach you and you need to know for your clinical examination.” I’ve used her second techniques many times in my eleven-year career as a nurse. This brings me to my main point.

Most of the people who make our laws live in “ideal circumstances,” much like professional athletes and entertainers in Hollywood do. Much like prisoners, they live in a protected environment. There are no “extenuating circumstances,” for the most part, for any of these four segments of the population. All their needs are taken care of by others, usually professionals with a wealth of experience and knowledge. These people know what works well and what does not.


I have stated my opinion before on this subject, but I will reiterate it. The U.S. Constitution was written in such a way as to imply that politicians would only work at their political job for six months (out of twelve). This would require each one to have another source of income, i.e., a job in the “real world.” Our founding fathers didn’t want our politicians to lose touch with reality. Sadly, that is not the case.

The best instructors I had in nursing school and college were usually “adjunct” professors, ones with other jobs. These individuals knew what worked and what does not in reality. They would share their wealth of experience with their students. I found that helpful in most instances.


Sadly, because politicians don’t live in the “real world,” they are able to make laws that make their lives more tolerable, at the expense of their constituents in my opinion. While working at the “human kennel,” I have heard some of the “white collar” criminals say, “I didn’t do anything a politician hasn’t done, and THEY aren’t in here!” Sadly, that prisoner is probably telling the truth! If the Politian had not been protected by laws s/he helped make and pass, that individual would have needed lawyers, guns and money to avoid a prison sentence!


The midterm elections are coming up in a couple of months. We can voice our opinions with our votes. Regardless of political party, we all need to band together and demand that politicians, both local and national, vote for term limits for themselves. That way, we would be able to vote for someone new every so many years. Hopefully, this individual would be someone who hasn’t lost touch with reality. That person SHOULD be able to make a difference. However, if we, as voters, demand change, nothing WILL change, and we will be stuck with our present reality.


This has been d.c scot, with one man's (correct) opinion. Join my co-host and me tomorrow for more of "CAl.E.'s Corner."

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page