top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner


Got a wife and kids in Baltimore, Jack

I went out for a ride and I never went back

Like a river that don't know where it's flowing

I took a wrong turn and I just kept going

Everybody's got a hungry heart

Everybody's got a hungry heart

Lay down your money and you play your part

Everybody's got a h-h-hungry heart

Oh

I met her in a Kingstown bar

We fell in love, I knew it had to end

We took what we had and we ripped it apart

Now here I am down in Kingstown again

Everybody's got a hungry heart

Everybody's got a hungry heart

Lay down your money and you play your part

Everybody's got a h-h-hungry heart

La-la-la-la-la-la, oh yeah

La-la-la-la-la-la

Everybody needs a place to rest

Everybody wants to have a home

Don't make no difference what nobody says

Ain't nobody like to be alone

Everybody's got a hungry heart

Everybody's got a hungry heart

Lay down your money and you play your part

Everybody's got a h-h-hungry heart

Oh yeah

(Everybody's got a hungry heart)

(Lay down your money and you play your part)

Oh yeah

(Everybody's got a hungry heart)

La-la-la-la-la-la

Ooh yeah

La-la-la-la-la-la

Source: LyricFind

Songwriters: Bruce Springsteen

Hungry Heart lyrics © Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC



C.: (Ring) OH, hi, d.c. Did you get a chance to look at my manuscript.



d.: I did, Cal.E. I think that your outline is good, but it just needs a little spicing up.


C.: Outline? I din’t make no stinkin’ outline. What ARE you talking about?


d.: Well, my outline is my chapters. I name them, and then describe what happens in each chapter. When I go back and revise my outline, I have an annotated table of contents if an agent or a publisher asks for it.


C.: Okay, so what’s wrong with my manuscript?


d.: The story’s good, but there’s not enough showing and a lot of telling.


C.: What do you suggest, then.


d.: Well, if you don’t mind, I’ll give you one example. Instead of saying that your ship exploded when you landed on this planet, say something like, “As I ran as fast as I could away from the fiery explosion, I saw red, green and yellow colors in a shiny building in front of me. As the last blast from the explosion of my spaceship, my only way back to my planet, my family, and my familiar way of life. MY spaceship exploded on impact and went up in flames. As the last blast from the explosion reached me, I fell to my stomach, not wanting to believe what I’d just seen in the reflection on the shiny building that I was later to learn was called a “barn.”

As I lay on the ground dazed and confused, a huge animal began to nuzzle me with its wet nose. If this was a cat like me, it was the largest cat I’d ever seen! All manor of thoughts ran through my head. “Was it a friendly creature, or did it have in mind to kill and then eat me?” The animal seemed to have had plenty to eat, so it was possible that it was an alpha predator, the top of the food chain, and I was an alien cat with no way of knowing how to escape the beast. I couldn’t run because I was frozen with fright. Besides, there was a whole herd of what I was later to learn were cows. Cows, as a rule, are very gentle animals, but I had no way of knowing that when I first came to this planet from my home planet, The Planet Of The Talking Cats in the  Cat Galaxy.”

Or something similar to that.


C.: Wow! you got all of that our of, “My spaceship imploded on impact, so I had no way to go back home. It was okay, though, because I soon made friends with a cow?


d.: Yes, and, if you don’t mind, I rewrote the next paragraph, too.


C.: (That was all one paragraph?) Okay, go ahead.


d. The cows, as gentle as they were, had no idea what I was asking them when I began to speak in my native tongue, Catonese. Discouraged, I began to walk slowly toward the shiny building that held dried stalks of the lush, green carpet that the cows not only trampled on, but also ate for nourishment. Seeing their enthusiasm for the plant, I tasted it. ‘Yuck! Why do these creatures crave such a jolting taste?’ Maybe, I thought, this stuff tastes better after it’s been dried to store for the colder months of the year, as was indicated by my new fiend, Barney.

He looked something like me, and he spoke my language. He said that the dried version of grass was hay. He then showed me his bed made out of hay. I tried to eat it and got sick, although I hadn’t eaten since my husband, Tom, exiled me from the galaxy. Fortunately for me, it was an election year, so he didn’t execute me for eating his “Rodent Prepared for a KIng,” as his own edict decreed. Tom wanted to show that he was a  compassionate leader, so he merely exiled me from my home galaxy and  planet. This was done with the blessing of the Supreme Ruler of the Cat Galaxy, Meow Z. Tongue.


I told Barney that I was a queen on my planet, and that my husband was the king, and his name was Tom. Barney said that all female cats on this planet are referred to as queens, and all male cats are called toms. Since Barney was a tomcat, he wanted me to sleep in his bed of hay that night, but I refused. I had other things to do. Any planet that would let a cat, the smartest and most special creature in the universe sleep outside on a bed of hay must be a cruel, undeveloped wasteland. Barney begged to differ with my opinion. He said that he was a barn cat, and the pay was good. He could eat all the rodents he was able to catch and kill. Barney, I thought, must be the best barn cat on this cat-forsaken planet, because he was almost as fat as a calf, a baby cow.

Barney wasn’t offended that I rejected his advances. He said that there were plenty of queen alley cats around to breed with, so he directed me to the nearest city of any size. He called it “Baltimore” and pointed me in a westward direction. Since it was night, the best time for a cat to travel, I thanked Barney and headed off in the direction he’d suggested…”


C.: Okay, d.c., please continue.


d.: I would, but I have a meeting for one of my classes now.


C.: So, I guess that’s all the time we have for today, folks. Please join us tomorrow for another episode of Cal.E.’s Korner.




28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page