top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E's Korner



Tumble outta bed and stumble to the kitchen

Pour myself a cup of ambition

Yawnin' and stretchin' and try to come to life

Jump in the shower and the blood starts pumpin'

Out on the streets, the traffic starts jumpin'

With folks like me on the job from 9 to 5

Working 9 to 5, what a way to make a living

Barely gettin' by, it's all taking and no giving

They just use your mind and they never give you credit

It's enough to drive you crazy if you let it

9 to 5, for service and devotion

You would think that I would deserve a fair promotion

Want to move ahead but the boss won't seem to let me

I swear sometimes that man is out to get me

Mmmmm...

They let you dream just to watch them shatter

You're just a step on the boss man's ladder

But you got dreams he'll never take away In the same boat with a lot of your friends Waiting for the day your ship will come in

And the tide's gonna turn an' it's all gonna roll you away

Working 9 to 5, what a way to make a living

Barely gettin' by, it's all taking and no giving

They just use your mind and you never get the credit

It's enough to drive you crazy if you let it

9 to 5, yeah, they got you where they want you

There's a better life and you think about it don't you

It's a rich man's game no matter what they call it

And you spend your life putting money in his wallet.






C.:  (Well, now that the excitement of cat fighting is over, I’m bored. Everyone is so scared of T that we can’t schedule a cat fight. Also, Ralph and his band are done with their CONVERSE tour. They played all the big name back allies in Southeast Texas. Ralph’s band was well received in Conroe, Orange, Victoria, East Benard, Rosharon and Egypt, but they had a tiff about which band member was the most important. My youngest tom kitten, Ralph doesn’t like controversy, so he decided to try out for another band, so he’s a really good backup vocalist and bass player…




I said BASS PLAYER!




Anyway, Ralph is trying out for a really good rock group from New Orleans. the band members wanted to name the band after the city where they got their start, but wanted to make it an easy to remember name, so they wanted to use only one syllable for the name of their band. Asa result, they decided just to use the initials of New Orleans. Even though the band is really good, NO is having a hard time catching on. It may be because all the band members answer their phones with the name of their band to give it more attention. The promoters probably think that the band members are turing down an opportunity to play a gig before the even hear what cities a tour involves. Ralph’s new band may need to reconsider how they answer their phones. 

If Ralph’s new band doesn’t get any gigs, he’ll be able to fill his usual shifts as a cage cleaner at The Kennel. I don’t need money, because my husband is a meowiannaire. He has a doctorate in playing and hiding from the College of the Cat Skils. He obtained that degree while taking correspondence courses  while he was incarcerated at The Kennel while working with and for the notorious cat burglar, Tom the Tabby. T was in and out of The Kennel so many times the warden retired his number, but he did earn his PHD. That’s not whey he’s a meowainnaire, though.




He and Tom made some good investments with the money they “made” with their  “enterprises.” He and I are set for life, but I’m bored. I’ll look and see if any other kennels in the southwestern tip of Southeast Texas need an excellent cage cleaner with managerial experience. I’d like to work nine to five, though, not the night shift as I usually did at The Kennel.  Oh, here’ s one listed ion CNN’s website. Their add says to call them for an interview, and Cats Need kNowledge is a reputable website, so I’ll call them now.


“Hello, yes, I’d like to schedule an interview for the cage cleaner job you have advertised on CNN.”




Do you have any experience in this area, ma’am, sir, or nonbinary individual?




C.: Plenty. In fact, I was the head cage cleaner at my previous job.


Very well. So you do have managerial experience. That will come in handy at this job, because we need someone to organize a bunch of house cats. What is your managerial style?


C.: I’m a house cat herder who can lead by example. I’m the best cage cleaner in the Southwestern Southeast Texas.


Very well. I just have one more question.


C.: Which is?


How is your work history?


C.: I’ve never missed a day of work in my  life.


That’s impressive. Give me your full name, and I’ll look that up just for clarity.


C.: Calculating Einstein Kat.


Oh dear, Ms. Kat. It says here that you missed one-half of the shifts you were scheduled to fill in the last three years.


C.: Yes, but I didn’t miss it!





d.: That’s all the time we have for today, folks. Please join us tomorrow for another episode of Cal.E.’s Korner.


C.: (I guess I’ll catch up on my favorite daytime soap opera “Nine Lives to Give” while I wait for a return call to schedule an in person interview.



16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page