top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner



Leavin' home, out on the roadI

've been down before

Ridin' along in this big ol' jet plane

I've been thinkin' about my home

But my love light seems so far away

And I feel like it's all been done

Somebody's tryin' to make me stay

You know I've got to be movin' on

Oh, oh big ol' jet airliner

Don't carry me too far away

Oh, oh big ol' jet airliner'C

ause it's here that I've got to stay

Goodbye to all my friends at home

Goodbye to people I've trusted

I've got to go out and make my way

I might get rich you know I might bet busted

But my heart keeps calling me backwards

As I get on the 707

Ridin' high I got tears in my eyes\

You know you got to go through hell

Before you get to heaven

Big ol' jet airliner

Don't carry me too far away

Oh, oh big ol' jet airliner'C

ause it's here that I've got to stay

Touchin' down in New England town

Feel the heat comin' down

I've got to keep on keepin' onY

ou know the big wheel keeps on spinnin' around

And I'm goin' with some hesitation

You know that I can surely seeT

hat I don't want to get caught up in any of that

Funky shit goin' down in the city

Big ol' jet airliner

Don't carry me too far away

Oh, oh big ol' jet airliner'

'Cause it's here that I've got to stay

Oh, oh big ol' jet airliner

Don't carry me too far away

Oh, oh big ol' jet airliner'

Cause it's here that I've got to stay

Yeah, yeah yeah, yeah

Big ol' jet airliner

Don't carry me too far away

Oh, oh big ol' jet airliner'

Cause it's here that I've got to stay

Oh, oh big ol' jet airliner

Carry me to my home

Oh, oh big ol' jet airliner'

Cause it's there that I belong

Source: LyricFind

Songwriters: Paul Pena

Jet Airliner lyrics © Tratore

 

 

 

 

 



C.: That was an interesting game, d.c. Thanks for taking Ralph and me to Florida and back on a big ol’ jet airliner. I suppose that I should call The Kennel and see how Jodi is doing covering for Ralph and me.




 

“Hello, may I speak to the cage cleaning department, please.:”



 

 

I have that department on the line. Please hold.

 

“Hi, Me Jefe. This is Calculating Einstein Cat. I was supposed to fill in for my son Ralph tonight, but he nor I could make it in. I sent my youngest queen kitten, Jodi to fill in for us. How is she doing, may I ask?




 

MJ.: Oh, thank you so much for sending us your daughter, Jodi, to work for you and Ralph. She’s the greatest cage cleaner of all time. In fact, you and Ralph need not come in anymore. She can do the work of two WACOs.

 

C.: Really? Well, that’s good to hear, Me Jefe…

 

MJ:  NO!! Can’t you tell when someone is being facetious?!  The World Association of Cats and Other working pets will lose their contract if one of you doesn’t come in tomorrow night. Are we clear?!!

 

C.: Crystal. (click). Hey, d.c., I don’t have enough money in may account to rent a movie, and it’s a four-hour flight to Houston. What do you want to talk about for four hours?





 

 

d.:  We could talk about the fascinating article I just read. It said that people like me, those with poor memories, are less apt to get Alzheimer’s disease when they age. Isn’t that interesting?

 

 

C.: It is, but is that article a scientific, peer-reviewed article, one you could use for a reference in any of your classes or writing assignments?

 

 

d.: What article?

 

 

C.: The one you just cited.

 

 

d.: I’m sorry, I don’t recall. But I do know that people with Alzheimer’s tend to live in a certain period of their past. That reminds me of a story. The year was nineteen eighty-four. I was in my… year of college.

 

C.: (Maybe no one notices when people like d.c. contract Alzheimer’s disease because they don’t act any differently than they did before they suffered this illness?)  Mmmhmmm. So, you were a young buck, probably in your thirties or so?

 

d.:  NO! I was twenty-one years old and taking an economics class because I was an Agricultural Economics major. So, my professor, who was eighty-four years old in the year that Goerge Orwell’s most famous book was named for…

 

C.: So, he was born just as the century turned…

 

 

d.: Actually, no. The year that my econ professor was born in, the year 1900, would have been considered the last year of the 19th century. As we all know, the twenty-first century didn’t actually begin until January 1, 2001. That makes The (late) Artist Formerly Known As Prince’s song, 1999, a little off.

 

C.: I see, okay, back to your econ professor.

 

d.: Which one?

 

C.: The one that was born in the last year of the 19th century.

 

 

d.: Oh, right. Anyway, this prof. couldn’t get through a fifty-minute lecture without stopping one-halfway through it and going outside to smoke a cigarette. We were all required to buy the latest edition of the textbook he wrote, and his lectures were straight out of that book. None of us were paying attention, because we all knew that we could just read the book and get the same information he was giving us in his lecture.

Suddenly, his monotone voice changed, and he stopped reading from his book. I still remember his exact words. “By the year 2000, every nine-year-old will own a hand-held computer that can make phone calls. And no one will try to steal cash. Instead, criminals will try to gather as much information as they can on someone and steal their identity. That way, they can access all your banking information and empty your accounts.”




No one believed him at the time, but I’ve thought about that lecture many times during this century.



C.: But you said the year 2000 was part of the 20th century and the last millennium. Why are you thinking about that lecture now?

 

d.: My point is that some people know much more than we realize. At my first unit, I worked with a nurse who had been in a medic in the army. When I told him that story, he said that my professor probably had worked for the military at one time. The military has advanced technology before it’s released to the public. The army had access to the internet before it was released to the public. My partner believed that the military had ticked my professor off somehow, so he decided to give away some of their secrets to get a group of college kids’ attention. It worked. I’ve never forgotten that one lecture.

 

C.: (And yet, when we land, d.c. won’t remember the name of the lot where he parked his truck).

 

d,: It looks like we’re descending, so we must get our carry-on luggage together. That’s all the time we have for today, folks. Please join us tomorrow for another episode of Cal.E.’s Korner.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page