top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner



I have a mansion, forget the price

Ain't never been there, they tell me it's nice

I live in hotels, tear out the walls

I have accountants pay for it all

They say I'm crazy but I have a good time

I'm just looking for clues at the scene of the crime

Life's been good to me so far

My Maserati does one-eighty-five

I lost my license, now I don't driveI

have a limo, ride in the backI lock the doors in case I'm attacked

I'm makin' records, my fans they can't wait

They write me letters, tell me I'm great

So I got me an office, gold records on the wall

Just leave a message, maybe I'll call

Lucky I'm sane after all I've been through

(Everybody say, "I'm cool, " "He's cool")

I can't complain but sometimes I still do

Life's been good to me so far

I go to parties sometimes until four

It's hard to leave when you can't find the door

It's tough to handle this fortune and fame

Everybody's so different, I haven't changed

They say I'm lazy but it takes all my time

(Everybody say, "Oh yeah, " "Oh yeah")I

keep on goin' guess I'll never know why

Life's been good to me so far

Ah, yeah, yeah

Source: LyricFind

Songwriters: Joe Walsh

Life's Been Good lyrics © Reservoir Media Management, Inc



d.: Well, Cal.E and ELAC are on the Planet of the Talking Cats, fighting tyranny. I applaud that. Cal.E. and ELAC are trying to make life on that planet fair. To me, though, “fair” is a four-letter “F” word. I’ll explain as I go.

One of the closest friends I’ve had in my life was one of the most honest people, in a loving way, that I’ve ever known. At one time, I would have considered her one of my three closest friends, and she may have been the closest, even though she was about thirteen years older than me (her age was the one thing she wasn’t exactly honest about, because she wouldn’t reveal it). My friend had a great sense of humor, but didn’t hold anything in, either. She didn’t smoke or drink and kept her weight at the ideal for her height by eating healthfully and exercising daily. My friend died of a Glioblastoma (a brain tumor with “fingers” going into the brain) at fifty-nine. I just read that Neil Armstrong’s (the first man to walk on the moon) daughter died of a brain tumor at the age of two. She was his oldest child. My great niece, whose mother and grandmother were both registered nurses, died when she was eleven days old.

On the flip side of this, Quinn Ewers, the University of Texas’ quarterback, reportedly got a one-million-dollar Name, Image, and Likeness deal to return to his home state and town to play football. I think that’s ridiculous! If they had negotiated with him, I’m sure that he would have come back for $900,000.

Seriously, life isn’t fair. Because someone can run faster or throw farther or has a better idea for an app. or an invention than anyone else, their lives are considered to be more valuable than other people’s. Missionaries and doctors who work with Doctors Without Borders put their lives at risk on a regular basis to help people that the rest of the world cares little about. They don’t do this for money or recognition. When I was sent to M.D.. Andeson for treatment twenty years ago; I was shocked when my oncologist told me that he must perform my surgery promptly because he would be out of the country for six months working with Doctors Without Borders. Only those who were lucky enough to have him as their doctor and the people who worked for and with him knew this about him. He didn’t accept any money for doing this, nor did it increase his patient load or his price per visit.

Apparently, this principle (that life isn’t fair) is universal. Cal.E. and ELAC are doing their best to help their planet, and I’ll try to do something to help recognize some of the people who are doing things like these two are. The only one that comes immediately to mind, though, is my old oncologist, Dr. Mansfield. I do know, though, that the hospital he works for, M.D.. Anderson does take on a lot of pro bono cases for patients who cannot afford to pay for their healthcare. So, to M.D. Anderson, Doctors Without Borders, and all the missionaries in the world, I offer a sincere and heartfelt thank you from those of us who aren’t able to do what you do on a regular basis.

 

d.c. scot.

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page