top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner




The preacher man says it's the end of time

And the Mississippi River, she's a-goin' dry

The interest is up and the stock market's down

And you only get mugged if you go downtown

I live back in the woods you see

My woman and the kids and the dogs and me

I got a shotgun, a rifle and a four-wheel drive

And a country boy can survive

Country folks can survive

I can plow a field all day long

I can catch catfish from dusk 'til dawn (Yeah)

We make our own whiskey and our own smoke too

Ain't too many things these old boys can't do

We grow good-ole tomatoes and homemade wine

And a country boy can survive

Country folks can survive

Because you can't starve us out and you can't make us run

'Cause we're them old boys raised on shotguns

We say grace, and we say ma'am

If you ain't into that, we don't give a damn

We came from the West Virginia coal mines

And the Rocky Mountains, and the western skies

And we can skin a buck, we can run a trot line

And a country boy can survive

Country folks can survive

I had a good friend in New York City

He never called me by my name, just Hillbilly

My grandpa taught me how to live off the land

And his taught him to be a businessman

He used to send me pictures of the Broadway nights

And I'd send him some homemade wine

But he was killed by a man with a switchblade knife

For 43 dollars, my friend lost his life

I'd love to spit some Beech-Nut in that dude's eyes

And shoot him with my old .45

'Cause a country boy can survive

Country folks can survive

'Cause you can't starve us out and you can't make us run

'Cause we're them old boys raised on shotguns

We say grace, and we say ma'am

If you ain't into that, we don't give a damn

We're from North California and South Alabam'

And little towns all around this land

And we can skin a buck, and run a trotline

And a country boy can survive

Country folks can survive

A country boy can survive

Country folks can survive

Source: Musixmatch

Songwriters: Hank Williams Jr.


C.: I’ll be right back, Your Immenseness.





M.: Imminence!




C.: (I can’t take a giant talking cat with me to work. Especially not one who has an ego to match his girth! d.c. is a country boy, and he should have something to ‘discourage’ Meow Z. Tongue from going to work with me tonight. He left his door open for his son who’s out on a date, so I know that I can get into his house. Country boys are known to keep arsenals in their possession, and Meow might decide to let it be known that he’s more intelligent than anyone at The Kennel. I can’t let that happen. I’ll just borrow one of d.c.’s hunting guns. Yes, here are two of them. This shotgun is heavy, and I understand that a high-powered rifle has a lot of kick to it.

Hmm. I wonder which one of these guns this box of ammo fits? These primitive weapons are so uncomplicated that I should be able to figure this out. They’re much less complicated than the musket loaders we use on The Planet of the Talking Cats, but I can’t figure out how to load either of them. I’ll need to use something, though, to keep Meow from going to work with me tonight. Eureka! That’s it!





d.: Well, that’s all the time we have for today, folks. Please join us tomorrow for another episode of Cal.E.’s Korner.




 

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page