top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner












Black socks, they never get dirty, The longer you wear them the stronger they get. Sometimes I think I should wash them, But something inside me says No, no, not yet. Not yet, not yet, not yet.



..d.: (scratch, scratch) Just one minute, Cal.E. I’m on the phone with soxfinder.com. “Yes, the sock you sent me is the right color, but I ordered a left sock. You sent me the right sock. I need to return this one for the correct one.”




C.: (There are left socks and right socks?)



d.: Now, Cal.E., why are you scratching on my door?





C.: Well, because I kept trying to call you, but you didn’t answer the phone. I decided it was just as easy to walk next door. I need to talk to you about my and my kitten’s workout for the Cat Skills Games next week.


d.: I’m sorry, Cal.E. I was on the phone with soxfinder.com. *



d.: Yes, a man in our neighborhood came up with a brilliant idea. When one loses his or her sock, the pair is useless, unless that person only has one leg or foot. Anyway, this guy got the idea that, if everyone sent their one sock to him, he could match that sock with one from another person that had lost his or her sock that was like the one the first person lost.


C.: How much does it cost to become a member of soxfinder.com?


d.: It’s free! And you know how bad I am at losing socks. It’s hard to find socks that fit my size 12EEEE feet, so this is a godsend!


C.: So, the whole thing is free?


d.: Not exactly, but all I must do is pay the shipping and handling charges for the sock they send to me.


C.: And the company pays those charges on the socks that you send to them?


d.: Well, no. I pay those charges as well.


C.: And how much are those charges?


d.: More than buying a new bag of socks.


C.: Who is the genius that came up with this idea?


d.: I’m really bad with names, Cal.E. You know that. I have an excellent memory for addresses, though. All the socks go to 1313 Mockingbird Lane.


C.: I know him. His name is Herman. I guess he’s looking for something to do since he retired and all his kids have moved out (along with his wife). dc., don’t you walk right by that house when you go to get your mail at the cluster box that’s almost two blocks from our houses?


d.: Well, yes, I suppose I do. What’s your point, Cal.E.?


C.: Couldn’t you just knock on his door and get your sock, or drop one off as you go to or from your mailbox?


d.: Well, what if Herman isn’t home?


C.: Then, couldn’t he just leave a box on his front porch with the socks that are donated to him? Then everyone in the neighborhood could go by his house and see if there are any socks that s/he needs that fit that person. You and your friends could also just drop your socks in the box when you lose one.


d.: Hmm. Herman does like to talk. I think that he’s a little lonely. That would mean that a lot of people would come by his house and talk to him if he is home.

Thanks for the suggestion, Cal.E. Now, for what you came here for. I have the definitive workout for you and your kittens…


C.: Well, that’s all the time we have for today, folks. Please join us tomorrow for another episode of Cal.E.’s Korner.


* Note: As far as i know, this is not a real website and is in no way affiliated with sockfinder.com, which is a real website. Neither the author nor anyone else affiliated with the blog Cal.E.'s Korner is affiliated with sockfinder.com in any way, shape or form.





26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page