top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner














***

If you search for tenderness

It isn't hard to find

You can have the love you need to live

But if you look for truthfulness

You might just as well be blind

It always seems to be so hard to give

Honesty is such a lonely word

Everyone is so untrue

Honesty is hardly ever heard

And mostly what I need from you

I can always find someone

To say they sympathize

If I wear my heart out on my sleeve

But I don't want some pretty face

To tell me pretty lies

All I want is someone to believe

Honesty is such a lonely word

Everyone is so untrue

Honesty is hardly ever heard

And mostly what I need from you

I can find a lover

I can find a friend

I can have security until the bitter end

Anyone can comfort me

With promises again

I know, I know

When I'm deep inside of me

Don't be too concerned

I won't ask for nothin' while I'm gone

But when I want sincerity

Tell me where else can I turn

'Cause you're the one I depend upon

Honesty is such a lonely word

Everyone is so untrue

Honesty is hardly ever heard

And mostly what I need from you

Source: LyricFind

Songwriters: Billy Joel

Honesty lyrics © Songtrust Ave, Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC, Universal Music Publishing Group, Warner Chappell Music, Inc



d.: Cal.e., why did you email me this picture of Tucker in a wedding dress while I’m driving to work? Is that his disguise for when you, he, and your fourteen kittens go on the lam?

C.: No, I don’t think we’ll need a disguise, but I felt I must do something after I learned the truth (whatever that is). I photo shopped this picture of Tucker and threatened to send it to all his associates if he didn't come clean, but he hasn't responded to the texts I sent him yet.


d.: ??!!

C.: Well, T.J. said that he just waited until someone came in the gate at the ranch and led the other thirteen kittens out of the ranch where Tom the Tabby supposedly had them sequestered….

d.: They’re cats, couldn’t they have just climbed the gate or the fence?

C.: d.c., you’ve met my kittens. Other than T.J., do you think that they’re capable of thinking of doing something like that, much less doing it?

d.: I’m sorry, you’re right. I guess T.J. didn’t want to leave his brothers and sisters behind. Anyway, why are you mad at Tucker?

C.: Because, when I talked to T.J., he said that, to try to make up with Tucker, Tom the Tabby just wanted for my kittens to have a good time; so he took them to the ranch he bought with the money he made from selling his stock after Tucker helped him manipulate the stock market. But…Sixto said that Tom told them not to leave, ever!

d.: Maybe T.J. was just trying to make it sound better so that you wouldn’t be too worried about Tom the Tabby. It sounds like he handled the situation, as he would be expected to do as your oldest kitten.

C.: I thought of that, but why would Sixto make that statement if T.J. went to so much trouble to make something up so that I wouldn’t be worried? I mean, the event was over, and I should be able to know the truth. Also, Ralph said the same thing that Sixto did, so I’m really confused. Jodi didn’t know what was going on, as usual, when I questioned her.

d.: Maybe each of your kittens is telling you a partial truth, but not the whole truth.

C.: ??

d.: Well, T.J. probably just wanted to put your mind at ease, but Sixto and Ralph wanted you to know the truth as they understood it. Maybe Tom told them not to leave until he got back, because he didn’t want them to get run over. You said yourself that your kittens aren’t very responsible. Maybe Tom just got busy and forgot about your kittens. He isn’t a parent, so he wouldn’t be worried about them the way you, Eudora, your mom or dad or I would be.

C.: Then why did Tucker make up the part about Tom saying he would eat all of my kittens if they left the ranch? T.J. said he never heard Tom say that. In fact, he said Tom was very friendly, showing them around his ranch.

d.: He may have been friendly to them to their faces, but told Tucker not to let them leave. Or….Tucker just wants to marry you so that he can have access to all of your savings and kitten support from your ex husband.

C.: d.c., I spent all my savings trying to win Tucker back; and my kitten support goes to feed and clothe my kittens and take care of their vet bills. I’m not rich, but Tucker is. Why would he try to scam me?

d.: I don’t know, Cal.E., and the truth may be very disturbing. Maybe T.J. and Tucker think, to quote Jack Nicolson in “A Few Good Men,” “You can't handle the truth!!”

C.: ( Heavy sigh. d.c. just likes to work in quotes from that movie whenever he can, since it’s his all time favorite movie, other than Casa Blanca. But he may be correct in his thinking. I wonder if Tucker knows something very scary, and he’s just trying to protect me? There’s only one way to find out, I’ll…)

d.: Well, that’s all the time we have for today, folks, please join us tomorrow for another episode of Cal.E.’s Korner


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page