top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

CAl.E.'s Korner

Updated: Mar 26, 2023



That's great, it starts with an earthquake

Birds and snakes, and aeroplanes

And Lenny Bruce is not afraid

… Eye of a hurricane, listen to yourself churn

World serves its own needs

Don't mis-serve your own needs

Speed it up a notch, speed, grunt, no, strength

The ladder starts to clatter

With a fear of height, down, height

Wire in a fire, represent the seven games

And a government for hire and a combat site

Left her, wasn't coming in a hurry

With the Furies breathing down your neck

… Team by team, reporters baffled, trumped, tethered, cropped

Look at that low plane, fine, then

Uh oh, overflow, population, common group

But it'll do, save yourself, serve yourself

World serves its own needs, listen to your heart bleed

Tell me with the Rapture and the reverent in the right, right

You vitriolic, patriotic, slam fight, bright light

Feeling pretty psyched

… It's the end of the world as we know it

It's the end of the world as we know it

It's the end of the world as we know it and I feel fine

… Six o'clock, T.V. hour, don't get caught in foreign tower

Slash and burn, return, listen to yourself churn

Lock him in uniform, book burning, bloodletting

Every motive escalate, automotive incinerate

Light a candle, light a motive, step down, step down

Watch your heel crush, crush, uh oh

This means no fear, cavalier, renegade and steering clear

A tournament, a tournament, a tournament of lies

Offer me solutions, offer me alternatives and I decline

… It's the end of the world as we know it (I had some time alone)

It's the end of the world as we know it (I had some time alone)

It's the end of the world as we know it and I feel fine (time I had some time alone)

I feel fine (I feel fine)

… It's the end of the world as we know it (time I had some time alone)

It's the end of the world as we know it (time I had some time alone)

It's the end of the world as we know it and I feel fine (time I had some time alone)

… The other night I drifted nice continental drift divide

Mountains sit in a line, Leonard Bernstein

Leonid Brezhnev, Lenny Bruce and Lester Bangs

Birthday party, cheesecake, jellybean, boom

You symbiotic, patriotic, slam but neck, right, right

… It's the end of the world as we know it (time I had some time alone)

It's the end of the world as we know it (time I had some time alone)

It's the end of the world as we know it and I feel fine (time I had some time alone)

… It's the end of the world as we know it

It's the end of the world as we know it

It's the end of the world as we know it and I feel fine (time I had some time alone)

… It's the end of the world as we know it (time I had some time alone)

It's the end of the world as we know it (time I had some time alone)

It's the end of the world as we know it and I feel fine (time I had some time alone)

… It's the end of the world as we know it (time I had some time alone)

It's the end of the world as we know it (time I had some time alone)

It's the end of the world as we know it and I feel fine (time I had some time alone)

Source: LyricFind

Songwriters: John Michael Stipe / Michael E. Mills / Peter Lawrence Buck / William Thomas Berry

It’s the End of the World as We Know It (and I Feel Fine) lyrics © Universal Music Publishing Group



d.: Cal.E., why are you putting the lyrics to that song on our blog today? I thought that Meow Z. Tongue went back to his home galaxy and swore never to return to ours!


C.: He did. I just like the lyrics to this song. It’s a lot different from the lyrics you posted from the chorus of one of the songs you wrote yesterday. I just think that variety is the spice of life.



d.: Why did you post a picture of Meow at the beginning of the blog?


C.: To remind us of what might have happened if we aren’t vigilant. Our planet can be destroyed by many things other than a giant cat.


d.: Like what, Cal.E.?


C.: War, famine, pestilence, and death, to name some things.


d.: You just named the four horsemen of the apocalypse, Cal.E., according to the book of Revelation in the Holy Bible. Are you trying to tell me something?


C.: Well, I can only count to two, so I didn’t know how many things I’d named. I just know that these are the things people and animals fear the most.


d.: And that’s the fifth horseman of the apocalypse: fear.


C.: ???


d.: There are only four horsemen named by the apostle, John, in the book of Revelation chapter six. He was exiled to the island of Patimus. While he was in exile, he had a dream in which he saw four horsemen on different colored horses come to Earth. The pale horse represented death, the black horse represented famine, the red horse represented conquest, or war, and the white horse represented pestilence. These four things are what will destroy the Earth, according to Christian theology. The rider on the pale horse is given permission by God to destroy one-third of the Earth’s population, according to John. Many of us thought that the last pandemic would destroy that many people and that would be the beginning of the end of the world. Fear, though, can be a factor in deaths caused by heart attacks, asthma attacks, and other things that stress the cardiovascular and pulmonary systems if the person already has problems with one or both. That’s why fear was termed the fifth horseman of the apocalypse (The Fifth Horseman Is Fear - Wikipedia recalled 3/24/2023)


C.: How many people died during the pandemic, d.c.?


d.: It’s really hard to tell, because some deaths were attributed to the disease that caused the pandemic when they shouldn’t have been, but it did kill a lot of people. Most were people with pulmonary and cardiovascular problems, but most would have lied if they hadn’t contracted the virus. I feel safe in saying that it didn’t destroy one-third of the world’s population, though.


C.: That’s good to hear. Now, I can get down to training for the Cat Pentathlon. My weakest event is…


d.: Oh my, look at the time! I must be getting ready to get to work tomorrow, if I’m to get up early enough to water my yard.


28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page