top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner


Midnight, not a sound from the pavement

Has the moon lost her memory?

She is smiling alone

In the lamplight, the withered leaves collect at my feet

And the wind begins to moan

Memory, all alone in the moonlight

I can dream of the old days

Life was beautiful then

I remember the time I knew what happiness was

Let the memory live again

Every street lamp seems to beat

A fatalistic warning

Someone mutters and the street lamp sputters

And soon it will be morning

Daylight, I must wait for the sunrise

I must think of a new life

And I mustn't give in

When the dawn comes, tonight will be a memory too

And a new day will begin

Burnt out ends of smoky days

The stale, cold smell of morning

A street lamp dies, another night is over

Another day is dawning

Touch me, it's so easy to leave me

All alone with the memory

Of my days in the sun

If you touch me, you'll understand what happiness is

Look, a new day has begun

Source: Musixmatch

Songwriters: Andrew Lloyd Webber / T. S. Eliot / Trevor Nunn

Memory lyrics © The Really Useful Group Ltd., Faber And Faber Ltd. Gb 1, The Really Useful Group Ltd

C.: d.c., why are you late?

d.: For what? We usually meet at this time to write our blog, don’t we?

C.: Yes, but I asked you to meet my one-half hour earlier because I need to get ready for my meeting with the big boss tonight. I must be at work one-half hour before my shift starts tonight for my interview with the big boss. If I do well, I may be promoted to a corporate position.


d.: Oh, yes. Now that you mention it, I do remember now. it’s a good thing I went back to the pharmacy, I suppose.

C.: Why did you need to get back to the pharmacy? Did you forget something?

d.: Yes I did….

C.: What was it?

d.: a supplement I’ve been taking for… a while.

C.: What does it do?

d.: Hmm… oh yes. It helps me remember things better.

C.: What’s it called? (I want to know because I sure don’t want to buy it.)

d.: Let’s see. Hmm… I forgot.

C.: How long have you been taking it?

d.: I’m sorry, I don’t recall.

C.: I see. Well, you probably don’t remember this, but you promised to pay me $500.00 for writing the blog by myself yesterday. When can I expect to be paid?

d.: What’s the name of our blog?

C.: (Oh, boy, it’s worse than I thought. He can’t even remember the name of this blog). It’s called “Cal.E’s Korner,” d.c.

d.: Right. Since the blog bears your name, why should I pay you to write your own blog? Shouldn't you be paying me to help you write the blog?

C.: But you’re the lead writer, so…

d.: So why should I pay you to copy and paste something I wrote? I saw the blog yesterday. All you did was copy an excerpt from one of my manuscripts and paste it in the blog! A cat could have done that!

C.: d.c., I AM a cat, remember?

d.: Remember what?

C.: That’s all the time we have for today, folks. Please join us tomorrow for another episode of Cal.E.’s Korner (now I need to get ready for my interview. I hope the interviewer isn’t taking the same supplement d.c. is, because he will never remember to promote me if he is.)




17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page