top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner









You run, run, run away

It's your heart that you betray

Feeding on your hungry eyes

I bet you're not so civilized

Well, isn't love primitive

A wild gift that you want to give

Break out of captivity

And follow me stereo jungle child

Love is the kill

You're heart's still wild

Shooting at the walls of heartache bang, bang

I am the warrior

Well, I am the warrior

And heart to heart you'll win

If you survive, the warrior, the warrior

You talk, talk, talk to me

Your eyes touch me physically

Stay with me, we'll take the night

As passion takes another bite

Oh, who's the hunter, who's the game

I feel the beat call your name

I hold you close in victory

I don't want to tame your animal style

You won't be caged

In the call of the wild

Shooting at the walls of heartache bang, bang

I am the warrior

Well, I am the warrior

And heart to heart you'll win

If you survive, the warrior, the warrior

I am the warrior

Shooting at the walls of heartache (shooting at the walls of heartache)

The warrior

I am the warrior

And heart to heart you'll win

Heart to heart you'll win

If you survive, the warrior, the warrior

Shooting at the walls of heartache

I am the warrior

Yes, I am the warrior

And victory is mine

Shooting at the walls of heartache

I am the warrior

Shooting at the walls of heartache bang, bang

I am the warrior

Source: LyricFind

Songwriters: Holly Knight / Nick Gilder

The Warrior lyrics © BMG Rights Management, O/B/O Capasso, Reservoir Media Management Inc

d.: Hey, Cal.E., I’m excited. I came up with the perfect name for my program for people who want to participate in an Ironman distance triathlon but have permanent injuries: The One Percent Warriors”!

C.: So, that must be an expensive program, if only the top one percent of wage earners can afford it…


d.: No, Cal.E. The name comes from the fact that less than one percent of the world’s population will ever accomplish finishing an Ironman distance triathlon.The actual percentage of Iron Men and Women in the world is closer to 0.01%. A very small percentage of the finishers have injuries that limit their ability to run, cycle and swim.

C.: Your name is inaccurate, d.c. If less than one percent accomplish that feat, wouldn’t a more accurate name be “The Less Than One Percent Warriors”? Or maybe, since such a small percentage have injuries that limit them, but aren’t competing in the handicapped division, the name should be “The Much Less Than One Percent Warriors.”

d.: It would, but that’s too long of a name. The book I’m reading now, Brendan Kane’s “Hook Point,” says that we have less than three seconds to get someone’s attention, since there are 60,000,000,000 ads on television, social media, and radio each day! And, as far as the handicapped division, I have a lot of respect for someone who is paralyzed from the waist down and still accomplishes finishing the ultimate one day test of physical fitness, endurance, mental toughness, and strategizing. I just don’t have the knowledge to train someone in that condition. I do have a lot of personal experience with leg injuries, though, especially knee injuries. I’m also the go-to guy at The Human Kennel when an inmate has a leg injury, since I’ve had a lot of experience with them. I feel confident I can train someone with an injury that limit’s his or her mobility.

C.: Wow! That number you quoted sounds like a lot more than two, but that’s as high as I can count. So, all those zeros mean a huge number, I suppose.

d.: Yes, it is a huge number, more than most people can even imagine. Since it takes three seconds to get someone’s attention, though, social media sites don’t usually charge the person advertising unless someone looks at the advertisement for more than three seconds. That sounds more fair to me than charging a small amount of money each time someone scrolls past the ad.

C.: It does, but why did you use the word “warriors” in your title? The dictionary definition of that word isa brave or experienced soldier or fighter.” Is this program only for wounded veterans?

d.: Although wounded veterans- and all veterans, for that matter- are certainly welcome to try the program, it’s not limited to veterans. A warrior is someone who overcomes an enemy. Injuries are my targeted clientele’s enemy, and we’re trying to overcome injuries to accomplish something spectacular.

C.: d.c., I can swim and run, but I’d have a hard time riding a bicycle for 112 miles (or any distance, for that matter), but your program sounds good. Can I join it?

d.: Sure, Cal.E. Even if all someone wants to do is train to run a 10k, or even a five kilometer run, I think that I could tailor a program for that individual.

C.: That sounds good. I’ll look for the advertisement for your program in the near future, d.c. In the meantime, I must train for the Cat Rodeo and The Cat Skills games. You gave me a brutal workout to do today.

d.: Today is an active recovery day, Cal.E. All I asked you to do today was walk 800 meters to the gym and do some stretches and lift light weights. Your cool down would be to walk the one-half mile back to your house.

C.: As I said, brutal!


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page