top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner









It's late in the evening

She's wondering what clothes to wear

She puts on her makeup

And brushes her long blonde hair

And then she asks me

"Do I look all right?"

And I say, "Yes, you look wonderful tonight"

We go to a party

And every one turns to see

This beautiful lady

Who's walking around with me

And then she asks me

"Do you feel all right?"

And I say, "Yes, I feel wonderful tonight"

I feel wonderful because I see the love light in your eyes

Then the wonder of it all is that you just don't realize

How much I love you

It's time to go home now

And I've got an aching head

So I give her the car keys

And she helps me to bed

And then I tell her

As I turn out the light

I say, "My darling you were wonderful tonight"

"Oh, my darling, you were wonderful tonight"

Source: Musixmatch

Songwriters: Eric Clapton

Wonderful Tonight lyrics © Warner/chappell Music International Ltd., Eric Patrick Clapton, E C Music Ltd


d.: Ok, y’all Eric Clapton certainly had the right idea. Even though this is the song playing during the opening to the movie “The Fugitive,” it’s still a good thing to say to your wife. Yes, Richard Kimbrall’s wife is found dead in the next scene, and Tommy Lee Jones is convinced that Dr. KImbrell is the guilty party. It's still a good thing to say to your wife, just don’t kill her afterward. If you want to sing the song to her, make sure you know the words. Nothing spoils a good thought like a misquote. It’s a good song, even if Richard Kimbrall did confess to killing his wife on his deathbed, after claiming his innocence for many years. New evidence was found and Kimbrall was let out of prison on the basis of this evidence, but it was apparently wrong.

Moving on. “You look nice,” is a good thing to say, as long as you keep it at that. If you say today, this week, this year, this century, etc. Her answer will be, "Are you saying that I don’t usually look nice?” There's no getting out of that one. Similarly, don’t say this if she asks if her pants are making her look fat. As in, “No honey, those pants don’t make you look fat. You look nice.” Because she’ll undoubtedly answer, “So, you're saying that it’s not the pants making me look fat. I am fat, and I don’t usually look nice?” Take my advice. Stick the candy bar in your mouth and chew slowly.

“You look marvelous!” Billy Crystal got this one right. Of course, it helps to have Crystal’s money and sense of humor. Or you could try the classic line, “I’m astounded by your beauty, grace and charm, as well as your intelligence.” That will stop most arguments.

“I’ll do the dishes tonight, honey, don’t worry about them.” Don’t add to this, “As soon as the game(s) I’m watching is/are over. That’s understood. You might encounter some trouble, though if one or more of the games go into overtime.

The classic, “Yes, honey, you’re right,” Is always a good way to end a discussion. Except when she says, “I feel fat.”

And the number one thing to say to your wife to make her happy, “Yes, honey, I did buy you that new car you wanted.” As long as it isn’t a smart car or a beat up Chevrolet. (Sidenote: don’t do this if you didn’t actually buy the car. Also, don’t immediately hand her the information for the car payments. Wait until the moment has passed to do this. Then, you can casually mention to her how much her car payments are each month.)


This has been d.c. scot, with (mostly) sound advice.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page