top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E's Korner


HoustonHouston means that I'm a one day closer to youOh, honey, HoustonHouston means the last day of the tour and we're through

Well honey, you and God in heaven aboveKnow I love what I do for a livin', I doAh, but HoustonHouston means that I'm one day closer to you

Yeah, singin' at the world's biggest rodeo showWas a great time for me and the guysAh, but when I'm a way from you, honeyTime always never flies

And sleepin' all alone in that holiday hotelSure makes a cowboy blueBut here I am in HoustonAn' I'm one day closer to you

HoustonHouston means that I'm a one day closer to youAw honey, HoustonHouston means the last day of tour and we're through

Well honey, you and God in heaven aboveKnow I love what I do for a livin', I doAh, but HoustonHouston means that I'm one day closer to you

Yeah HoustonHouston means that I'm a one day closer to youAw honey, HoustonHouston means the last day of the tour and we're through

Well honey, you and God in heaven aboveKnow I love what I do for a livin', I doAh, but HoustonHouston means that I'm one day closer to youYeah honey, HoustonHouston means that I'm one day closer to you

Source: LyricFind

Songwriters: Larry Gatlin

Houston (Means I'm One Day Closer to You) lyrics © Concord Music Publishing LLC, Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC, Universal Music Publishing Group



d.: Cal.E. , I got the next chapter of your manuscript THE CAT THAT WAS FROM OUT OF THIS WORLD edited.



 

C.: That’s nice, d.c. But weren’t you supposed to be taking a test today?

 

d.: I was, but I have until eleven o’clock tomorrow to take the test. Always remember, never put off until tomorrow what you can put off until the day after tomorrow.

 

C.: Okay, since you’ve sacrificed your time to edit my manuscript, the least I can do is read it.

 

 

                                         CHAPTER THREE: HOUSTON

 

As I approached the gas station, I saw a large truck. It didn’t have any signs indicating where it was going, but I just wanted to get away from Tom, my kittens, and Tom’s mom. I boarded the trailer of the truck when the driver sleepily opened it, not noticing me climbing into it with lightning speed. I then settled in for a long cat nap.

I must have been asleep for the better part of two days, because the sun had already gone down again when the truck stopped and I was starving. When the driver opened his cargo bin, I hopped out as fast as I could and ran straight towards the bright lights of what I assumed was another large city. I wanted to get back to civilization. Barney had obviously been a hard worker, and I’m sure that his humans were also, but the farm life just wasn’t for me, nor was a life of raising what Tom declared was fourteen kittens. He’d graduated from obedience school and could count, so I took his word for it. Any cat that accounts for the city’s rodents and pursues them for profit is obviously a well-educated cat, so I trusted what he said.

As I turned into an alley way, a bright light shone in my eyes. Blinded by the light, I got down, don’t you ever come back I’m going to make it through the night. Oh, wait, that’s the lyrics to a song, not what happened. Manfred Mann and his Earth Band sure can sing, but I digress. The owner of the light then through a loop made of cable around my neck. It was attached to a long pole, and when he pulled the cable back, it almost choked me. He then dragged me to his truck and unceremoniously threw me in a cage with, well, more than two other cats. He then drove us to The Kennel, where we all got food and water. I was grateful for the food and liquid, but I was also frightened. As I trembled in fear, a nurse stopped at my cage.


“What’s your name, little kitty?” he asked.


“Cal.E.,” I said. The nurse was shocked to hear me speak his native language. He then asked me where I was from. I said that I was from Baltimore and didn’t know how I’d gotten to Houston.



“You must have retrograde amnesia, Cal.E. That’s why you didn’t know not to talk. Please don’t talk to anyone else, and I’ll get you out of here. My best friends and next-door neighbors foster cats, dogs and kids to get them ready to get adopted.”

“What’s adopted?” I asked, innocently. No one is adopted on my planet. We’re all wards of the State, so that’s the entity we depend on to feed and water us, as well as tell us what to do. The State is run by Mewo Z. tongue, the Supreme ruler of the Cat Galaxy.




“Adoption can be wonderful, if you get placed with the ideal forever family,” the nurse said. I later learned that the ruggedly handsome, brilliant nurse’s name was d.c. scot. He took me home with him that morning, and introduced me to  my human mom and dad. I was so grateful that I purred and rubbed my face on them until almost all my hair was shed on the two of them.



“This little kitty has already been through so much if she came all the way from Baltimore, as d.c said.,” my new mom, Hortense said.



“We should just adopt her and let her live here. My new dad, Horace, knew better than to contradict what his wife had said when she’d already made up her mind, so he agreed. he then went back to his computer to book the first of many cruises for my new mom an dad.



I got to talk to d.c., almost every day because he was my nest door neighbor. We started a friendship that survived us working together, me going through two rounds of rehab for an addiction to catnip, and him siding with his cats over me when some suspicious things happened in our neighborhood, but that, friends and neighbors, is a story for another day.



 

d.: That’s as far as I got, Cal.E. I should probably go ahead and take my test so that I will have one day to rest before my next class begins.

 

C.: So, I guess that’s all the time we have for today. Please join us tomorrow for the concluding chapter of THE CAT THAT WAS FROM OUT OF THIS WORLD.

 

                               

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page