top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.e.'s Korner




Got a spouse  and kittens in Baltimore, Jack

I went out for a ride and I never went back

Like a river that don't know where it's flowing

I took a wrong turn and I just kept going

Everybody's got a hungry heart

Everybody's got a hungry heart

Lay down your money and you play your part

Everybody's got a h-h-hungry heart

Oh

I met her in a Kingstown bar

We fell in love, I knew it had to end

We took what we had and we ripped it apart

Now here I am down in Kingstown again

Everybody's got a hungry heart

Everybody's got a hungry heart

Lay down your money and you play your part

Everybody's got a h-h-hungry heart

La-la-la-la-la-la, oh yeah

La-la-la-la-la-la

Everybody needs a place to rest

Everybody wants to have a home

Don't make no difference what nobody says

Ain't nobody like to be alone

Everybody's got a hungry heart

Everybody's got a hungry heart

Lay down your money and you play your part

Everybody's got a h-h-hungry heart

Oh yeah

(Everybody's got a hungry heart)

(Lay down your money and you play your part)

Oh yeah

(Everybody's got a hungry heart)

La-la-la-la-la-la

Ooh yeah

La-la-la-la-la-la

Source: LyricFind

Songwriters: Bruce Springsteen

Hungry Heart lyrics © Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC





 

d.: I’m sorry that I didn’t get this back to you sooner, Cal.E., but I forgot that this was time sensitive.

 

C.: That’s okay, d.c. I asked Meow Z. Tongue your brain teasing question, and he’s still trying to figure it out.



 

d.: ‘In English, what’s another word for synonym?’

 

C.: Yes. He has a thesaurus, a dictionary and the guys from CNN trying to figure this question out.

 

d.: Well, even Cats Need kNowledge won’t get this right, because there is no other word in the English language for the word that means another word for a word.

 

C.: As long as he doesn’t read this blog, it will take him a while to figure that out.

 

d.: So, we have a few days to finish THE CAT THAT WAS FROM OUT OF THIS WORLD?

 

C.: We do, so please continue with chapter two.

 

CHAPTER TWO: BALTIMORE CITY LIMITS

 

My feet dragged as I left the farm. I was fond of Barney and the surroundings, but it was unfamiliar territory to me. I must, I thought, get back to some semblance of what my life was like on The Planet Of The Talking Cats. I needed a civilized environment. Since it was night, I decided to travel as far away from the spot where my spaceship had imploded as my weary legs would carry me. Fortunately, I had a full stomach thanks to Barney and his hunting skills.

 

I trudged through busy streets and back allies until I felt as if my weary legs would detach from my body. As they told my brain‘no more,’ I spotted a sign that said ‘Baltimore city Limits.’

 

‘Hooray!’ I thought. ‘I’m back to civilization.’ I couldn’t walk much farther, though, and I was starving, since I hadn’t eaten in well, two days times two days, however long that is. I can’t count any higher than two, because that’s how many meals I’m supposed to eat per day. That was all that was important to me at that time. So, I found the nearest back porch and rested my weary bones on it.

 

As the sunlight shone on my beautiful tricolored coat, I woman in a muumuu spotted me. ‘Poor little kitty,’ she said. ‘You must be tired and hungry. Come on in and dine with my cat, Tom.’

 

‘Oh, great,’ I thought to myself, ‘another tomcat named Tom.’  However, I was too hungry to refuse the invitation, and I did desire to have another being to whom I could relate, so I accepted the kind lady’s invitation. However, Tom, who looked very much like Barney the Barn Cat, didn’t seem to be hungry. He stayed in his comma-shaped bed and only stared at me as I wolfed down helping after helping of what was supposed to be his breakfast.

 

‘I’m sorry, Tom, but I haven’t eaten in four days,” I apologized to the well-fed cat, who only yawned, stretched, and then spoke a language I understood.



 

‘It’s all right, pretty lady,’ Tom began, ‘When you finish, come to my comma and share my bed. I’m sure that your tired and weary and in need of rest. I’m well-fed and have slept for fourteen hours, so you can use my bed to rest in.

 

I rested for sixteen hours. A few days later, I noticed that I was getting fat. Two months after that, fourteen kittens popped out of me. I was so terrified that I ran down the street to the nearest gas station and hopped on a large truck that was headed in a southwesterly direction.



 

d.: That’s as far as I’ve gotten, Cal.E..

 

C.: Well, I guess tomorrow, we can look at chapter three of THE CAT THAT WAS FROMN OUT OF THS WORLD, right her on Cal.E.’s Korner

 

 

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Cal.E.'s Korner

C.: What’s this? Buddy Bones dropped off the memory stick I sent to d.c., and he sent it back with a note. Let me see what it says. “Cal.E., I rewrote the beginning of THE COLOR GRAY. Since you’re tec

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page