top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E's Korner



Ticking away the moments that make up a dull dayYou fritter and waste the hours in an offhand wayKicking around on a piece of ground in your hometownWaiting for someone or something to show you the way

Tired of lying in the sunshineStaying home to watch the rainAnd you are young and life is longAnd there is time to kill today

And then one day you findTen years have got behind youNo one told you when to runYou missed the starting gun

And you run, and you run to catch up with the sunBut it's sinkingRacing around to come up behind you againThe sun is the same in a relative wayBut you're olderShorter of breath, and one day closer to death

Every year is getting shorterNever seem to find the timePlans that either come to naughtOr half a page of scribbled lines

Hanging on in quiet desperationIs the English wayThe time is gone, the song is overThought I'd something more to say

Home, home again

I like to be here when I can

When I come home cold and tiredIt's good to warm my bones beside the fire

Far away, across the fieldThe tolling of the iron bellCalls the faithful to their kneesTo hear the softly spoken magic spells

Source: Musixmatch

Songwriters: David Jon Gilmour / Richard William Wright / Niclas Brekley Mason / George Roger Waters

Time lyrics © Roger Waters Music Overseas Ltd, Pink Floyd Music Publishers Ltd




C.: I’m going to give you a book to read in your spare time.

 

 

d.: This is a thick book, and I’m taking two classes. I only made a 95 on the test I just took in one class, so I need to study. That grade brought my average down.



 

 

C.: d.c., isn’t that still an A? And isn’t that your goal, just to make A’s in your classes.

 

 

d.: Yes, I suppose it is. Maybe I will have some extra time to read. I haven’t done any pleasure reading in some time, because I’m working fulltime, writing and taking classes. I have a full schedule. What’s the name of this book?



 

C.: “Chicken Soup for the



Soup Kitchen Worker’s Soul.” I thought of you when I saw this book.

 

d.: Well, I haven’t worked in a soup kitchen, but, now that my health has improved, perhaps I could start doing charity work again. This could get me started back on that path.

And I don’t need to make one-hundred percent on all my tests. That’s too much pressure. I don’t even really need to make A’s in my classes, since all I must do is pass with a C average. That’s not so hard. I’ve been reading and studying all day long, though, so I’m not going to start reading this large tomb tonight. This book is muh thicker than their usual books, so I suppose that it has a lot of information in it, but I’m not going to bother with that tonight. I’ll see you later.

 

C.: Where are you going?

 

d.: To rent a movie, buy a pizza and veg out. I have time to do that, now that the pressure is off. Thanks, Cal.E.

 

C.: Well, since my cohost is going to relax, I should do the same. I suppose that’s all the time we have for today, folks. Pleas join us tomorrow for anther episode of Cal.e.’s Korner.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page