top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner




Well, I beat the drum and hold the phone

The sun came out today

We're born again, there's new grass on the field

A-roundin' third and headed for home

It's a brown-eyed handsome man

Anyone can understand the way I feel

Oh, put me in, coach

I'm ready to play today

Put me in, coach

I'm ready to play today

Look at me, I can be centerfield

Well, I spent some time in the Mudville Nine

Watching it from the bench

You know I took some lumps

When the Mighty Casey struck out

So say, "Hey Willie, tell Ty Cobb and Joe DiMaggio"

Don't say it ain't so you, know the time is now

Oh, put me in, coach

I'm ready to play today

Put me in, coach

I'm ready to play today

Look at me, I can be centerfield

You got a beat up glove, a homemade bat

And a brand new pair of shoes

You know I think it's time to give this game a ride

Just to hit the ball and touch 'em all, a moment in the sun

It's a-gone and you can tell that one goodbye

Oh, put me in, coach

I'm ready to play today

Put me in, coach

I'm ready to play today

Look at me, I can be centerfield (yeah)

Oh, put me in, coach

I'm ready to play today

Put me in, coach

I'm ready to play today

Look at me, gotta be centerfield

Yeah

Source: Musixmatch

Songwriters: John C. Fogerty

Centerfield lyrics © Wenaha Music Co.




Hey, Cal.E., if you have time, I’d be glad to to take you to one of T. Puppy’s games with the Cut’N’Shoot Colts. This team is the lowest-level farm team of the Port Author Poodles, who play in the D League of microscopic league baseball. T. Puppy was sent to the instructional league, where she made the cut. She’ll be the teams new centerfielder.





C.: Well, I’m pretty busy with my sleeping schedule and filling in for Ralph at The Kennel. That’s in addition to training with my husband, Tucker Tucker Two, a.k.a. The Cat Fighter Formerly Known As The Tuxedo (who really needs a shorter nickname) Now Simply Known As T Because Triple T Was Already Taken. We’re training for a tag-team championship cat fight with The Claw and his Paw. But I’ll try to make some time to see her play. Email me a copy of her schedule and I’ll see which dates work the best for me.



d.: Okay, here you go.


C.: Let’s see. The Colts start out with a trifecta of games in the mid-cities. They start off with the Euless Ewes, who are real lambs as I understand it. Then, they’ll play a strong team, the Bedford Bulldogs. Following those games, the play the Hurst Heifers. That could be an udderly ridiculous game. Then, it’s on to the east side of Dallas, where the Colts will play the Roulette Rowdies. The fans are even more unsettled than their team, though, so I won’t be going on that road trip with my former roomie.

Then, it’s back home for a homestand against the Conroe Crustaceans, whom the Colts should bury. The next game is against the Kingwood Kangaroos. I’ll jump at the opportunity to see that game! Then, the Willis Wildcats come to town for a wild game. Afterward, the Colts play the Cypress Cyborgs. The Poodles should be aware of the use of A.I. in that game. They need to alert the umpires to watch for it, too.

Then, the Colts are on the road again for a fast game with the Galveston Greyhounds. Afterwards, they’ll go up the road a few miles and play the Webster Astronaries. That team couldn’t decide if they wanted to be called the Astronauts, since NASA is close to that town, or the Dictionaries, so they combined the names.

After that, the Poodles with face the Palacios Pole Cats. That could be a stinker of a game. Then the Fairbanks Ferrets come to town. That team has burrowed its way into the hearts of its fans.

If the Poodles win the pennant, they’ll play the champions of the exclusive Southeastern portion of Southwest Louisiana alternate Tuesday and Thursday League. They only play on Wednesdays, though. The Westlake Wonders are the favorite to take that league, as long as they don’t get stopped on the bridge going over Lake Charles while being transported to one of their games. They may all end up in jail if that happens. 

I should make a decision soon, I suppose. d.c. needs to buy his tickets, so I’ll just text him my choices. I’m sure that he’ll get back to me by tomorrow. I’ll let you know which games I chose to bless with my presence tomorrow right here on Cal.E.’s Korner.









 


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page