top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner




Well, I beat the drum and hold the phone

The sun came out today

We're born again, there's new grass on the field

A-roundin' third and headed for home

It's a brown-eyed handsome man

Anyone can understand the way I feel

Oh, put me in, coach

I'm ready to play today

Put me in, coach

I'm ready to play today

Look at me, I can be centerfield

Well, I spent some time in the Mudville Nine

Watching it from the bench

You know I took some lumps

When the Mighty Casey struck out

So say, "Hey Willie, tell Ty Cobb and Joe DiMaggio"

Don't say it ain't so you, know the time is now

Oh, put me in, coach

I'm ready to play today

Put me in, coach

I'm ready to play today

Look at me, I can be centerfield

You got a beat up glove, a homemade bat

And a brand new pair of shoes

You know I think it's time to give this game a ride

Just to hit the ball and touch 'em all, a moment in the sun

It's a-gone and you can tell that one goodbye

Oh, put me in, coach

I'm ready to play today

Put me in, coach

I'm ready to play today

Look at me, I can be centerfield (yeah)

Oh, put me in, coach

I'm ready to play today

Put me in, coach

I'm ready to play today

Look at me, gotta be centerfield

Yeah

Source: Musixmatch

Songwriters: John C. Fogerty

Centerfield lyrics © Wenaha Music Co.




C.: Hi, d.c., how is T. Puppy Katt doing trying out for the Port Author Poodles?



d.: Well, it’s her first time playing, but I think she has potential. Starting out in the D league will help her mature as a player while she’s young. Then, she can go to the C league, and, hopefully from there jump to a single A farm team.


C.: Yes, I’ve seen her jump. She can really do that!


d.: I didn’t mean literally. I just mean that, if she can develop as a hitter and I can teach her to throw, maybe she has a chance to be the first femal center fielder in MLB history.


C.: Well, if she doesn’t have a good arm, how is she going to play center field?


d.: She’s so fast that she may be able to run the ball back into the infield and still get the batter out.


C.: d.c, a lot of MLB outfielder throw in excess of ninety miles per hour. Can she run that fast?



d.: I don’t think she’s quite that fast, but she can really run, and she’s still a puppy. I’ll send you a video of her running.



C.: Oh, wow! I’ve only seen one dog that could run that fast in my whole life, but he’s passed on to the next realm. But, wait, what did Buddy Bones tell me when he was leaving Earth’s realm? He was still mad at me,  so he swore that he would come back and haunt me, but, is that possible? Could he possess another dog’s body?


T. Puppy Katt is a forty pound cream and white standard poodle, and Buddy Bones was a small black and tan mixed breed. He was part beagle, part miniature pinscher, part terrier, and some other things, and her lines are as pure as the lines on a baseball diamond before any of the players set foot on the turf. She’s female, and he was male. They're the antithesis of each other. But, what better way to disguise oneself than to come back as the antithesis of his former being. Could it be? Is T. Puppy possessed with my former housemate?


d.: Tune in tomorrow, folks, and find out if Buddy Bones was going to possess another dog’s body after he flew like an eagle to the next realm.




14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page