top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner




We're caught in a trap

I can't walk out

Because I love you too much, baby

Why can't you see

What you're doing to me

When you don't believe a word I say?

We can't go on together

With suspicious minds (suspicious minds)

And we can't build our dreams

On suspicious minds

So if an old friend I know

Stops by to say hello

Would I still see suspicion in your eyes?

Here we go again

Asking where I've been

You can't see the tears are real, I'm crying

(Yes I'm crying)

We can't go on together

With suspicious minds (suspicious minds)

And we can't build our dreams

On suspicious minds

Oh, let our love survive

I'll dry the tears from your eyes

Let's don't let a good thing die

When honey, you know I've never lied to you

Mmm, yeah, yeah

We're caught in a trap

I can't walk out

Because I love you too much, baby

Why can't you see

What you're doing to me

When you don't believe a word I say?

Well, don't you know I'm caught in a trap?

I can't walk out

Because I love you too much, baby

Well, don't you know I'm caught in a trap?

I can't walk out

Because I love you too much, baby

Well, don't you know I'm caught in a trap?

I can't walk out

Because I love you too much, baby

Well, don't you know I'm caught in a trap?

I can't walk out

Because I love you too much, baby

Well, don't you know I'm caught in a trap?

I can't walk out

Because I love you too much, baby

Well, don't you know I'm caught in a trap?

I can't walk out

Because I love you too much, baby

Well, don't you know I'm caught in a trap?

Source: Musixmatch

Songwriters: Francis Zambon

Suspicious Minds lyrics © Sony/atv Songs Llc


C.: (I hear Elvis music. I hope that d.c. didn’t stay up all night. When he’s overtired, he channels Elvis Presley. I’d better check on him and make sure that he’s okay.)  Hi, d.c., what’s going on?



And that was Suspicious Minds, by Elvis Pressley here at WELV, Tupelo Mississippi. All Elvis Music, all the time, because we love Elvis.


d.: I’m waiting on a call from Sheila Haynes, my agent/lawyer. She’s going to put me in touch with an accountant that will save me a lot of money on my income taxes this year.



C.: Well, that’s nice, but I was referring to the music you were listening to. Where did you find it?


d.: On my satellite radio system.


C.: Is that new?


d.: No, I’ve had it for three years, but I just now figured out how to operate it. I needed something to purify my ears after listening to Screamo music yesterday, so I learned how to use this satellite radio system Eudora gave me.  Then, I found this station on my satellite radio system and was instantly caught in a trap.


C.: Is that why you're holding your chest and clutching your right hand over the left side of your chest, because you listened to Screamo music yesterday?



d.: No, I’m having severe chest pain. It feels like an elephant is sitting on my chest, but I need to keep my line open in case Sheila Haynes calls me (ring). “Oh, hi, Sheila, that’s good news!”


C.: What’s going on,d.c.?


d.: Well, I asked Sheila to refer me to a good accountant. We owed too much money on our taxes last year, so I wanted to save some money on my texas this year. I asked her to find me a good accountant, and she found one and relayed our information for our taxes to him. He's already deopsited my money in my checking account. He saved me one-hundred fifty…


C.: (Ring) Yes, 911 operator. My friend has chest pain at a…what would you rate your chest pain at on a 1-10 scale, d.c.?




d.: Why do you ask, Cal.E.?


C.: Because I dialed the 911 operator while we were talking. She put me on hold, but then called me back when I accidentally hung up on her.



d.: It’s about a 9.999994. It’s almost unbearable.


C.: Okay, the ambulance will be here in five minutes. Try to hold on until then..


d.: BURP!! Wow! I feel much better now. 



C.: What is your pain now, d.c.?


d.: It’s a 0/10. You can cancel the ambulance. I feel so good that I’m going to go spend all my tax return money on  my favorite cat. Lock up for me, will you, Cal.E.?


C.: I just (potentially) saved d.c.’s life, and now he’s going to spend all the money his accountant saved him on me! I wonder if it’s one hundred fifty thousand dollars? I could buy some really cool cat toys with that much money! d.c.’s a nurse, so he probably makes a lot of money. But he does work for the state, so it probably isn’t that much. Maybe it’s just $1500. No, he said one-fifty. Well, even if it’s just one-hundred fifty dollars, Tucker and I could have a good meal with that. I’ll lock up and come back when I see d.c. return to his house.


Later that same day


C.: d.c., where did Big Boy get that new toy he’s playing with?




d.: I went to the dollar store and spent the $1.50 that the accountant Sheila Haynes found for me saved on our income taxes. Of course, now I must pay the accountant and Sheila. 


Hey, Cal.E., I’m kind of tapped out. Can I borrow a sawbuck until payday? I saw a cool cat toy at the dollar store, but it costs five bucks. I really think that Big Boy would enjoy it, though.









25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Cal.E.'s Korner

C.: What’s this? Buddy Bones dropped off the memory stick I sent to d.c., and he sent it back with a note. Let me see what it says. “Cal.E., I rewrote the beginning of THE COLOR GRAY. Since you’re tec

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page