top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.e.'s Korner





Dropkick me, Jesus, through the goalposts of life

End over end, neither left, nor the right

Straight through the heart of them righteous uprights

Dropkick me, Jesus, through the goalposts of life

Make me, oh, make me, Lord, more than I am

Make a piece in your master game plan

Free from the earthly temptation below

I've got the will, Lord, if you've got the toe

Dropkick me, Jesus, through the goalposts of life

End over end, neither left, nor the right

Straight through the heart of them righteous uprights

Dropkick me, Jesus, through the goalposts of life

Bring on the brothers who've gone on before

And all of the sisters who've knocked at your door

All the departed, dear loved ones of mine

And stick 'em up front in the offensive line

Dropkick me, Jesus, through the goalposts of life

End over end, neither left, nor the right

Straight through the heart of them righteous uprights

Dropkick me, Jesus, through the goalposts of life

Dropkick me, Jesus, through the goalposts of life

End over end, neither left, nor the right

Straight through the heart of them righteous uprights

Dropkick me, Jesus, through the goalposts of life

Yeah, dropkick me, Jesus, through the goalposts of life

End over end, neither left, nor the right

Source: Musixmatch

Songwriters: Paul Charles Craft

Dropkick Me Jesus lyrics © Screen Gems-emi Music Inc., Black Sheep Music



C.: Hello and welcome to another edition of Cal.E.’s Korner. It’s the playoff season for the NFL, so, today we have two experts on the game of professional football to share their opinions with us. First of all, we have d.c. scot, my usual cohost. And, the man who called the Texans-Ravens game correctly, Justin Case is also with us. I’ll start with Justin.

“Mr. Case, you called this game correctly. The team that had the most points at the end of it did, indeed win the game.  Unfortunately for those of us in Houston and are Texans fans, that was the home team, the Ravens. They, dropkicked the Houston Texans through the goalposts of life yesterday. Do you have any comments, Mr. Prognosticator?”



 

J.C.:  I do, indeed. I predict that, if Lamar Jackson doesn’t get injured, the Ravens will win the Super Bowl. The Ravens have the best record in the league, because they have the best players; so I’ll go out on a rather strong limb and say that, as long as Jackson stays healthy, the Ravens will be Super Bowl champions.

 

C.: So, Lamar Jackson is the key, then?

 

JC.: He is. That’s not because he’s so talented, although he is. It’s because the whole offense is built around his unique abilities.

d.: I’ll agree with that, Justin, and add some thoughts of my own. Much like the Ravens, the Texans are building their offense around C.J. Stroud and his abilities. And, the Texans now have the correct coach in place. According to his teammates, DeMeco Ryans has been a coach since he stepped on the field as a rookie, or, more accurately, as soon as he stepped on the field as a freshman at Alabama. The upperclassmen on defense at ‘Bama listened to their play caller, as his Texans teammates would later do. In fact, N.D. Kalu, who now hosts a midday radio show in Houston, said that, even though he was a ten-year veteran when Ryans came to the Texans organization, he called Ryans “Cap.” Someone of his ability and his understanding of the game commands respect. That’s why I agree with my favorite columnist in Houston’s daily newspaper. DeMeco Ryans will win a Super Bowl. I just hope that it’s here in Houston, and not San Fransisco, the only place that I believe he would leave Houston for. That’s  only out of loyalty to the organization that gave him his start in coaching, though.

 

JC.: I agree. The New Orleans Saints were a sad sack, losing organization until they found the right coach and traded for the right quarterback. Drew Brees was the right fit, and Sean Payton knew it. That’s what I think about Coach Ryans and C.J. Stroud, although he should reverse his initials. That’s because I do believe that he’s the second coming of Joe Cool, Joe Montana. He never seems to get rattled, much like the four-time Super Bowl champion whom some still consider to be the GOAT at that position.




 

d.: I agree. I think that the Texans had an adjustment period at the beginning of the year. Bobby Slowik had never called plays before, and C.J. Stroud was a rookie. Add in all of the injuries in the offensive line, and it’s really amazing that the Texans were able to win a play-in game for the playoffs, against the Colts, and then annihilate the Browns at home. I look for this team to be good for years to come.

 “The playoffs?! You want to talk about the playoffs?!” That’s what people were saying when the Texans started playing well, even with all the injuries. As we both know, Justin, the offensive line is basically one unit made up of five different pieces, and that’s why the Ravens excel. Their offensive line has been together for a while, so the left guard and left tackle work together well, and the same is true on the right side of the line. The center is the quarterback of the line, calling blocking schemes and identifying when blitzes may be coming. Add a lights-out defense to Lamar Jackson and a stable or running backs and receivers that can ball behind that line, and you have an organization that is in its prime. That’s unfortunate for the Texans, because they’re In the AFC along with the Ravens.

 

JC.: Yes, as you know as a former offensive lineman, the guards and tackles develop their own signals. They can communicate nonverbally to switch or modify the assignment that may be called for on a certain play, depending on how the defense is aligned. That will sometimes confuse the defense enough to garner a long gain out of a certain play that may not have worked in a previous game.

 

C.: Well, this has been fascinating, but we’re out of time for today. Do either of you have an opinion as to whom the Ravens will play in the Super Bowl?

 

JC.: San Fransisco.

 

d.: Ditto.

 

C.: Well, that’s all for today, but, if those are the two teams that play in the Super Bowl this year, remember that you heard it here first, on Cal.E.’s Korner.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Cal.E.'s Korner

C.: What’s this? Buddy Bones dropped off the memory stick I sent to d.c., and he sent it back with a note. Let me see what it says. “Cal.E., I rewrote the beginning of THE COLOR GRAY. Since you’re tec

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page