top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner



Do you not hear me anymore?

I know it's not your thing to careI know it's cool to be so bored

I guess it's cool to be alone

Do you never rest?

Fighting the Battle of Who Could Care Less

Every day you wake up late

Sometimes I wish I was that way

But there are some things that you would change

If it were up to you

So think about your masterpiece

(yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah)

Watch the Rockford Files

And call to see if Paul can score some weed

Will you never rest?

Fighting the Battle of Who Could Care Less

Unearned unhappinessThat's all right I guess

 

 




 

 

d.: ( Oh, there's my phone. I need to call my publicity agent and see if she can find a home for my idea for a new television show entitled “Texas Tim the Traveling Triage Nurse"). (Ring).




 

 

Jaded, Jolted, Jilted and Just Plane Disinterested Publicity Agency. The home of It Doesn’t Matter and Who Cares Anyway? How can I be of as little service as humanly possible to you, ma’am, sir, or nonbinary individual?

 

 

d.: May I please speak to Justina Plane?

 

 

Hold one, please (or longer if she chooses).

 

This is Just. Plane.

 

d.: When did you change your name?

 

 

I chose to shorten my name to a nonbinary one because it's gender neutral. I don’t want to offend anyone.

 

 

d.: But, you have long hair and wear make-up and a lot of jewelry.

 

 

Didn’t some men of your Baby Boomer generation also do that? Like, the men in the rock group Kiss, Alice Cooper and, most notably, Boy George?

 

 

d.: That’s a good point, but that’s not what I was calling about.

 

 

 

Then, what did you want, ma’am sir, or nonbinary individual?

 

 

 

d.: I’m your client, d.c. scot. You represented me with my fist book THE MAGRUDER MYSTERIES PRECISION: A CRIME OF PASSION.

 

 

And I did such a good job that you want me to represent you with another project?

 

 

 

d.: Well, that’s half true. You didn’t do a good job (or anything that I can tell).

 

 

 

Then, why did you call me back today?

 

 

d.: Y’all were the only publicity agency open on a holiday…

 

 

Today’s a holiday?

 

 

 

d.: Yes, it’s Good Friday…

 

 

Aren’t all Friday’s good? I mean, it’s the beginning of four straight days off.

 

 

 

d.: You take off four days a week?

 

 

Doesn’t everyone?

 

 

 

d.: Well, no, not unless we’re on vacation or it’s a long holiday, like Thanksgiving.

 

 

Well, since it’s a four-day holiday weekend, I’ll need to charge you four times my usual rate.

 

 

d.: It’s not a four-day weekend holiday, for most people. Anyway, just listen to my idea. It’s called “Texas Tim the Travelling Triage Nurse.”

 

 

Where is the setting?

 

 

d.: It’s in Texas…

 

 

Where is that?

 

 

d.: You don’t know where the second largest state in the union in both population and land area, as well as electoral college votes, predicted to be the largest state in the union by population in the 2040 census…

 

 

Oh, that reminds me, I must fill out my tax forms. I need to know where to find that 2040 form.

 

 

d.: No, it’s a 1040 form for income taxes…

 

 

Isn’t that a motor oil that you Baby Boomers invented for your gas guzzling cars that are that are polluting the planet?

 

d.: No, that’s 10W40, and it was on the market long before I was born. Anyway, Texas Tim is a traveling triage nurse…

 

Sir, have you written the whole manuscript yet?


 

d.: Well, no. I haven’t written the whole story yet. I have the beginning and the end of the first episode written, but still need the middle…

 

 

Well, since it’s a holiday, I need to fill out my 2040 form, and you’re grossly underprepared, I must end this phone call now. Call me back when you’re better prepared.

 

 

 

d.:(And I forgot about eating lunch with Eudora today). So, I guess that’s all the time we have for today, folks. Pleas join us tomorrow for another episode of Cal.E.’s Korner.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About

53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page