top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.E.'s Korner




Leavin' home, out on the road

I've been down before

Ridin' along in this big ol' jet plane

I've been thinkin' about my home

But my love light seems so far away

And I feel like it's all been done

Somebody's tryin' to make me stay

You know I've got to be movin' on

Oh, oh big ol' jet airliner

Don't carry me too far away

Oh, oh big ol' jet airliner'

Cause it's here that I've got to stay

Goodbye to all my friends at home

Goodbye to people I've trusted

I've got to go out and make my way

I might get rich you know I might bet busted

But my heart keeps calling me backwards

As I get on the 707Ridin' high I got tears in my eyes

You know you got to go through hell

Before you get to heaven

Big ol' jet airliner

Don't carry me too far away

Oh, oh big ol' jet airliner'

Cause it's here that I've got to stay

Touchin' down in New England town

Feel the heat comin' down

I've got to keep on keepin' on

You know the big wheel keeps on spinnin' around

And I'm goin' with some hesitation

You know that I can surely see

That I don't want to get caught up in any of thatFunky shit goin' down in the city

Big ol' jet airliner

Don't carry me too far away

Oh, oh big ol' jet airliner'

Cause it's here that I've got to stay

Oh, oh big ol' jet airliner

Don't carry me too far away

Oh, oh big ol' jet airliner

'Cause it's here that I've got to stay

Yeah, yeah yeah, yeah

Big ol' jet airliner

Don't carry me too far away

Oh, oh big ol' jet airliner

'Cause it's here that I've got to stay

Oh, oh big ol' jet airliner

Carry me to my home

Oh, oh big ol' jet airliner'


Cause it's there that I belong

Source: LyricFind

Songwriters: Paul Pena

Jet Airliner lyrics © Tratore

Ladies, gentlemen, cats, dogs, horses, pigs, cows and whatever other animals are on this flight, this is your captain speaking. Please be seated and buckle your seatbelts for the remainder of the flight. We have not ben cleared to land, and I don’t know how long we’ll be circling the airport, but it’s not in my control. (I’ll be making a lot of money for this flight, since I’ll be in the cockpit for a long time… OOOPS! I think my mic’s still open).




 

 

 



 


 

 

 

C.: Well, it looks like we have enough time for another one of your stories, d.c., unless your all out.




d.: I’m old enough to have accumulated enough stories to keep y’all entertained for a trans-Atlantic flight, Cal.E.


C.: (And then some). Okay, d.c., please regale Ralph and me with another story.

 

d.: The year was nineteen-eighty-one…

 

C.: So, you were a young man, then?

 

d.: Yes, it was my last year of playing high-school football, as near as I can recall.

 

C.: So, that let guys in their mid-twenties play high school football without their helmets in the last century?

 

d.: NO! That was the year I became of age, but I hadn’t yet experienced my eighteenth birthday. We wer having our usual head-knocking, body-rocking, soul-crushing two-hour Wednesday practice when the coach stopped the offense….

 

C.: d.c., you can barely remember where your shoes are. How do you know it was a Wednesday?

 

d.: … One, two…Both of my shoes are on my feet, thank you very much. I knew it was a Wednesday because that was the hardest day of practice. We would go out in shorts on Thursdays and work on special teams, .because it was the day before the game. Monday was film day, and,.. it may have actually been a Tuesday practice. Those were hard, too. Anyway, the head coach stopped the Tuesday or Wednesday scrimmage and changed the offense completely. Our quarterback, who had a very strong arm but only averaged about fifteen passes a game was happy, because we were in a pro set. That meant that he would get to throw the ball. We ran several pass plays from that formation. After about forty-five minutes, the head coach, who was in charge of the offense, called the offense over to the side and told us to forget what we’d just learned. We weren’t going to use it. As I looked up, a young man was jumping over the fence on the practice field with a hand-held camera. It was small for the time. It only covered the top half of his body.

That’s why I think that it’s ridiculous that Jim Harbaugh was suspended for scouting other teams games illegally. If illegal scouting happens on the high school 3A level, it probably happens at every college lavel and even in professional football.

 

C.: Then why do you think the NCAA suspended Michigan’s head coach because some film of an upcoming opponent’s game appeared in his inbox?

d.: I think the NCAA was making an example of the second most recognized name in college football to warn others. They knew that he was headed back to the NFL, so it didn’t really bother him. They never would have done that to Nick Saban. And, God forbid Bear Bryant was ever penalized for anything he did when my dad, my uncle and I were all in college. He coached at the University of Alabama for two generations. Do y’all have any questions?




 

Ralph: Who was Bear Bryant?

 

d.: Who was Bear Bryant?!!! Who was Bear Bryant?!!! Who was Bear Bryant?!!!

Ladies and gentlemen, we’ve been cleared for landing. We should touch down in Houston in less than fifteen minutes.


d.: Well, we kneed to gather up our thing, so I guess that’s all the time we have for today, folks. Please join us tomorrow for another episode of Cal.E.’s Korner.

 

 

 

 

 


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page