top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarkmiller323

Cal.e.'s Korner



We're caught in a trap

I can't walk out

Because I love you too much, baby

Why can't you see

What you're doing to me

When you don't believe a word I say?

We can't go on together

With suspicious minds (suspicious minds)

And we can't build our dreams

On suspicious minds

So if an old friend I know

Stops by to say hello

Would I still see suspicion in your eyes?

Here we go again

Asking where I've been

You can't see the tears are real, I'm crying

(Yes I'm crying)

We can't go on together

With suspicious minds (suspicious minds)

And we can't build our dreams

On suspicious minds

Oh, let our love survive

I'll dry the tears from your eyes

Let's don't let a good thing die

When honey, you know I've never lied to you

Mmm, yeah, yeah

We're caught in a trap

I can't walk out

Because I love you too much, baby

Why can't you see

What you're doing to me

When you don't believe a word I say?

Well, don't you know I'm caught in a trap?

I can't walk out

Because I love you too much, baby

Well, don't you know I'm caught in a trap?

I can't walk out

Because I love you too much, baby

Well, don't you know I'm caught in a trap?

I can't walk out

Because I love you too much, baby

Well, don't you know I'm caught in a trap?

I can't walk out

Because I love you too much, baby

Well, don't you know I'm caught in a trap?

I can't walk out

Because I love you too much, baby

Well, don't you know I'm caught in a trap?

I can't walk out

Because I love you too much, baby

Well, don't you know I'm caught in a trap?

Source: Musixmatch

Songwriters: Francis Zambon

Suspicious Minds lyrics © Sony/atv Songs Llc



d.: HELLO! OPEN THE DOOR! (Well, I suppose that Officer Fife acted like Elvis Presley and left the building. I hope he didn’t stick the key in his pocket when he left. That would make me feel like I’d been caught in a trap, since I have claustrophobia. However, I can’t yell loud enough for the officer at the next podium to hear me. The walls seem to be closing in on me, and I don’t have a working phone. My computer works, but it’s not connected to the warden’s office’s computer. I can’t hold back, so I need to think.  I don’t know why no one can see what this is doing to me, but I need to do somethin' afore aw start a chanellin' maw alter ego. Yeah. man, that’s it. Aw can email Cal.E.’s phone, an' she can call the front desk, and they’ll let me out. I should be free in a matta o' minutes.


CAL.E. HELP!! I’M LOCKED THE MEDICAL DEPARTMENT. OFFICER FIFE TOOK THE KEY AND LOCKED ME IN HERE BY MYSELF. PLEASE CALL THE FRONT DESK AND TELL THEM TO LET ME OUT, SINCE I CAN’T YELL LOUD ENOUGH FOR THEM TO HEAR ME. THEY WON’T BE ABLE TO SEE YOU, SO THEY WON’T KNOW THAT YOU’RE A CAT.  JUST TELL THEM THAT YOU’RE A CONCERNED COWORKER.

Thanks,

d.c.


(Now that I know that I’ll be let out of here, I can start working on my manuscript for Texas Tim the Traveling Triage Nurse. That should take my mind off being trapped in here. I need to decide which patient Tim decides needs to be seen first, since they are the same age, and both have chest pain at 8/10. Since they arrived at the E.R. at the same time, that can’t determine who goes first either. They both have compelling reasons to be seen first, and transporting one of them to a different E.R. may take too long. Let’s see, number one or number two. Speaking of which…


Six hours later



C.: Hi, d.c. Have you been waiting long?


d.: I’m glad to see you, and thanks for getting me out. But, what took you so long?!!!


C.: Well, after I woke up from my two-hour mid-morning nap, I fixed me a snack. As I was eating, I read your text. After I finished eating and cleaning up the kitchen (because Tucker hates for me to leave a mess when I eat because he's so sophistiacted with his Doctorate in Playing and Hiding from the College of the Cat Skills correspondant's school),




I went shopping for a new flea collar. We didn’t have a very cold winter, so I think the fleas will be bad this year. After I got home and took another nap, I called The Kennel. However, they couldn’t find the key to the medical department. Officer Fife was feeling sickly, so he went to the hospital with the key to the medical department in his pocket.



d.: Isn’t there a master key for this place?


C.: There is, for every door but the one that opens the medical department. Since it’s run by a subcontractor and has valuable personal information in the files here, there’s only one key.


d.: So, how did you open the door?


C.: I called the original Triple T and….



d.: Why did you call Tom the Tabby? he's a criminal cat!



C.: Because he’s an expert at picking locks.


d.: I thought that you were, too.


C.: I was, when I was in practice. Now that I’m on the “straight and narrow” path, I’m out of practice. I haven’t picked a lock in two years.

 

d.: So, Tom picked the lock?

 

C.: No, not exactly. Officer Fife burped on his way to the hospital and felt much better, so he turned around and came back to work. However, he didn’t remember that he had the key to the medical department in his pocket. He wanted to come see you to be checked out, but he couldn’t get in.

 

d.: I must have been in the restroom when he knocked on the door.

 

C.: I suppose so. However, when Tom got here, he saw Officer Fife as an easy mark. So, Tom tried to pick his pocket, and found the key to the medical department in his pocket. He commandeered the key and I opened the door.

 

d.: Okay, well, thanks for that, I guess. It’s almost time for the diabetics to come in and get their evening insulin. I’ll then need to pass out the narcotics that are prescribed. Then, I must perform the dressing changes that were missed because none of the inmates could get in here to see me. Then, I need to do all my paperwork, and I only have one hour to do all of that because the State doesn’t want to pay any overtime. I’ll need to do all that quickly.


C.:  Can’t the night shift do that?


d.: No, Cal.E., there is no night shift on this unit. I must get all this done in the next hour.


C.: So, I guess that’s all the time we have for today, folks. Please join us tomorrow for another episode of Cal.E.’s Korner.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page